We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would come back again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Save Saved
You added Ryokan @ Muntri Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryokan @ Muntri Street
62, Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Nagoya, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“I would come back again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here last year right on New Year's Eve with 4 of my friends. We had previously booked out a 4-bed dorm, but we had a late joiner to the group. When we asked if it was possible to add an extra mattress, we were prepared to be told "no" (since it's a busy hoilday), but they surprised us and somehow made it work!

The location is quite good if you are interested in historical and cultural sites, and the room and showers were stylish in a minimal way, and very clean. The only thing was the wooden floor of the hallway -- other people staying at the time didn't seem to understand that you don't stomp the ground when you walk (it's not cement!) and they were a little loud going back and forth from their rooms. But that's not something the hostel staff can control...

The place itself is really good, the staff were friendly and accomodating, and I would definitely go back if I return to Penang!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    141
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
33
96
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed a weekend in Ryonkan in Penang with some friends. Staff is very friendly and helped us a lot with planning our sightseeing tour, rooms are clean and simple, the hot rain shower is awesome! We got fresh towels and blankets. Can definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

RYOKON
It’s hard not to love Ryokan.

Room
Pretty impeccable, especially for the price. The beds were confortable and each had an outlet with a soft bed lamp attached. The bathrooms were communal, but very clean. They had shared shower shoes, which admittedly skeezed me out, but a nice gesture.

The common areas were great. Communal hall reading/quiet area upstairs, with plenty of reading material. Downstairs had TV, coffee table, communal iPad, etc. The breakfast was nothing to right home about, and charged extra for orange juice.

Staff
Winnie does a great job. She’s hard working, approachable and obviously has some luxury hospitality experience, running Ryokon like a boutique hotel, not hostel. Our key was ‘misplaced’. Though we assured Winnie we never got a second key for our party, she disagreed. This had a lot of potential to blow-up in an expensive add-on charge, but we came to a decent compromise in the end.

Location
We only spent 4 nights in Georgetown, but as far as I could see, Ryokon is placed in the center of where you want to be. You’re close to the red square night market, love lane, and the fisherman’s jetty heritage site.

Why not 5-stars? It's cramped. From the communal areas to the bedrooms, everything feels tight. But, for the price, you can deal with it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was the best hostel we visited in Malaysia. Clean, WiFi, nice shower. We lived in a dorm. And the biggest advantage were helpful, kind staff! They told us where to go to find interesting places, restaurants, showed us the best way to travel around the city. Best regards!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hostel is clean, wifi is strong, shower water is great.

tips: if you are coming from ferry pier, you can take a taxi at RM12.00, or just go to the bus terminus (around 2-3 street in front) there has a free shuttle bus which is free city bus and the header banner on bus is MAPP, you can stop at point 7 (stops no. 7) then walk infront and turn left which streeet just opposite of the high building with named CitiTel (it should be a hotel).
Go inside the street via a chinese temple and in front you can see this hostel with black and white entry design.

Room Tip: outside walking with a little noisy when walking or special running, which depends on different trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lebuh Muntri is a quiet street. I stay 2 nights in the glampackers room and like it. bed is nice, bathroom with hot & cold shower, free wifi, breakfast @ 7 am, has electrical source in every bed, staffs are very helpful (even downloaded a compass when i asked for kiblat direction). But I can hear steps from my bed because the wooden floor, and other people from other rooms was running in the aisle and quite annoying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

the 4beds room is very small.
we are 4person, stay in Ryokan for 2nights, before check out, i ask the staff help to check whether got room for 4beds for my next checkin after i go Hatyai. The staff say got one room, then i ask him to make reservation, he say can pay during my next check in. i left my luggage at the receiption counter during my visit to Hatyai. When i m on the way back penang from Hatyai, i call Ryokan to double confirm my booking. The other staff answer my call, he say i dnt made any booking. i hv to find other hotel in short time.
The staff not keep his promise to keep my reservation for my next check in, i have to find others hotel at night after i came back frm Hatyai. i was so dissappointed with their service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryokan @ Muntri Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Address: 62, Muntri Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Specialty lodging in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfilling everything a flashpacker need, our boutique hostel redefines the true meaning of flashpacking by providing affordable accommodation in a chic environment which guarantees fun, comfort and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ryokan @ Muntri Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan @ Muntri Street Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan @ Muntri Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.