We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's AMAZING!! The ONE in Penang!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ryokan @ Muntri Street to your Saves list
Ryokan @ Muntri Street
62, Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's AMAZING!! The ONE in Penang!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Ryokan was really good.. in fact GREAT. We enjoyed our stay there last weekend. Spending 3D2N here, Ryokan really provides a real social atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Went all out to meet our needs. Location is very good, smack right in the middle of Georgetown. Everything was within walking-distance. Convenient.

From the facade, Ryokan maintained the authentic old heritage pre-war shophouse look, but as we stepped in, they delivered a total different twist to the space. Very chic, raw + modern interior concept. Nicely-designed with good space delegation, complete with designer furniture and paintings/wall art to admire. Interesting.

Room was clean and spacious. Good beds and pillows were provided. A/C was great. Lockers and individual lightbox that comes with a powerpoint and good lights for reading.. unlike some other hostels were pretty dim. Comfortable beanbags to chill around, iPads for internet-surfing.. basically everything we possibly need was provided. We had no complaints.

It was overall an excellent experience.
Forget the hostel, Ryokan is more like a HOTEL..
We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    149
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
36
98
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

It's a newly opened hostel. Stayed in a private suite with attached bathroom for 2 nights at rm136 per night. The private room is small yet comfortable. The place is clean and modern. I like the super comfy blanket, soft pillow and bed, shower and shampoo. The only downside is the private room which is located at ground floor, I can hear loud foot step noises when people walking upstair.

The hostel location is good, very close to famous eateries. It's located in a quiet street opposite Cititel Hotel in Penang Road (I use this as a landmark). Just 5 min walk to the nearest bus stop.

Room rate is slightly higher than the other guesthouse/hostel in the same area but it totally worth it! Their free breakfast is good, they have different breakfast menu everyday, eg. western breakfast, mee, rice.

Staff are friendly, but clueless in guiding us how to go to some places of attraction in Penang, they just give me a map and I need to figure it out by myself. Nevertheless, the hostel atmosphere is excellent, it's a nice place to stay!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011 via mobile

Ryokan is a rare top-of-the-line hostel. By far the cleanest and most modern hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff is friendly, especially Belle who greets every guest with a smile. I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants to pay a little bit more for a big step up.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Some people call me cheap but I'm not. I'm just always out there hunting for the best deal.

And Ryokan is the best I have hunted. Its clean, cozy and comes with excellent service. Unbelievable good deal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Great meeting place!

I stayed at Ryokan over the long weekend and it was a great experience! Unlike the other hostels around the area, Ryokan was surprisingly clean and very comfortable with a mix of people from all around the world. The cafe wasn't fully operational yet but they were serving a variety beers and beverages which was sufficient. I love the interior design of Ryokan! It is simply chic! Great place to be if you want to meet people from all around the world. It is also situated in a heritage enclave. For photography enthusiast, it is THE place to be.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011 via mobile

Very welcoming staff and great decor. 5 min walk from clubs and night life. Air con and a comfy bed for 35rm is a fantastic deal. Chilled out in the tv room with large bean bags. Cool music and reasonably priced beers. I'll be staying again next time :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011 via mobile

Ryokan is an exemplary example of a luxurious hotel, oops i forgot its only a hostel but with impeccable service for tourists and locals alike.
Even for business travels...

I was greeted with warm smiles from Mr. Noor and Ms. Bel, amazingly helpful.

Stayed in a four bedroom option for only RM38 per bed/ night. The upstairs walkway was amazing with wooden flooring and beanbags to chill around. They even have a common TV area and you could mingle with other guests.

Location is very strategic especially for me, on night scene drinking. Just a corner away, trust me it's less than 5 minutes and I've arrived at Upper Penang Road - popular drinking spot among the locals - clubs & pubs.

Happy days... ;) just come and have a look yourself to be mesmerized by Ryokan.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryokan @ Muntri Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan @ Muntri Street

Address: 62, Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfilling everything a flashpacker need, our boutique hostel redefines the true meaning of flashpacking by providing affordable accommodation in a chic environment which guarantees fun, comfort and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Ryokan @ Muntri Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan @ Muntri Street Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan @ Muntri Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.