We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Cosy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Tiger

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added China Tiger to your Saves list
China Tiger
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No. 29 China Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 106 George Town B&B and Inns
Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Cosy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A group of us girls stayed at China Tiger earlier this month. I cannot recommend this place enough - it is located in the heart of Georgetown's heritage area (very close to Little India) and is walking distance to many, many stalls, restaurants and cafes. With a simple map, it is very easy to get around on foot. We stayed here during the Georgetown Heritage Festival celebrations (an event I would highly recommend as well) and the atmosphere was just lovely.

The apartment itself is very spacious with a large common area that is ideal for lounging around (and vegging out). The whole apartment is kept very clean, and amenities provided include breakfast food - cereals, bread, milk, juice etc. so there is not much of a need to head out to buy any supplies. Rebecca, owner of China Tiger, also popped by to say hello. She was incredibly helpful and recommended yummy eating places around the area.

Overall, I would recommend China Tiger for a small group of friends looking for a relaxed weekend getaway. Do note however, that excess to the apartments are via a flight of stairs so this might not be a suitable place for those with limited mobility. Other than that, it is a place I would definitely return to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Really great place to stay, apartment is really big, clean and in a nice part of town. Rebecca was a great host and told us all the good places to hang out in town and all the activities going on

I'd definitely stay here again. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We just got back from staying at China Tiger, and the apartment was one of the highlights of our Penang trip. It is huge; we love the color, detail, and artistry of the place; it manages to integrate different cultural elements--Chinese, Malay, Indian, tribal--into one artsy and hip whole. Also much appreciated were the thoughtful touches, such as a sewing kit, flat iron--even a basket of toys for children. It's quite rare to stumble upon a place that has the foresight to supply whatever you may need to feel at home. The kitchen was stocked with bread, yogurt, jams, coffee, tea, instant noodles, and some snacks, and came with cutlery, cookware, and tableware. It was also equipped with a toaster, electric kettle, French press, stove, and refrigerator. The large, airy bathroom comes with essentials such as towels, soap, shampoo, toilet paper, and conditioner. Around the room, maps, magazines, and books on Penang are laid out. I totally recommend China Tiger to families with small children--they will have plenty of space to run around and lots of stuff to amuse themselves with. Rebecca the owner, and her assistant Ruth (a Filipina, to our delight) are wonderful people. I had given her the wrong date and we arrived a day before she was expecting us. But she let us check in, and early--at 10 am. Then on our last day, we had a late afternoon flight and she let us use the place until 3 pm on the day we checked out, for no extra charge. She also made arrangements for a van to pick us up and take us to a tourist spot before dropping us off at the airport.Our van driver was a jolly senior whom my father had fun talking to. Thanks China Tiger!

Room Tip: Ask Rebecca for tips on where to eat specific dishes, and where to go, because she is a Penang nativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I loved this shophouse! Our parents did not really fancy it because they had to climb a steep flight of stairs (I should have thought about that). However, everything else was very good. They stocked enough food and drinks for us. The property is very clean and it's definitely special. The only con is that we parked our rented car outside the hotel and someone tried to break into our vehicle. So maybe just be careful, otherwise the surrounding Little India area is very colorful and interesting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We rented China Tiger recently for our family of 5 (2 adults, three children aged 16,14 and 14) and were incredibly impressed. The room is very large and cool, and beautifully furnished. It's in a perfect position, with the ferry terminal a few minutes walk away and Little India right outside the door. Plenty of wonderful little restaurants, shops and temples very closeby. Rebecca, Shelly and Fiona were so helpful when we were planning our holiday and after we arrived we always knew we could pop into the gallery to ask Fiona advice on restaurants etc. We highly recommend China Tiger to anyone looking for accomodation with character, airey space and perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Next to a castle in Tuscany, my husband and I agreed this was a most amazing stay. We just got back from a week's stay in the merchant house, hosted by the most generous, warm and considerate pair in Rebecca and David. Our two children and we enjoyed a huge place, two bedrooms with own very large and handsome bathrooms, a living room that cojoined the bedrooms, and two other "living-sitting" rooms downstairs. Each morning we would saunter into Rebecca's kitchen to see what goodies awaited us - Indian pastries, mee, muffins, toasts, jams, an abundance of seasonal fruits, juices teas and coffee. Rebecca even offered to help with our laundry(!). The house itself is a feast for the senses. Three buildings linked by hallways, verandas, shuttered windows and inner open aired courtyards. Rebecca has artfully decroated every space with whimsy, chic, vintage elegance and grace. It is an urban paradise. Why would anyone choose a hotel room when you can (pretend to) have a resident's slice of life in 3,000 square feet of living space beats us. The family's pool room was a joy to our boys who played endless games instead of stuck in a room with a standard TV. There are no pictures of the bathrooms on the site. They are large, beautufully tiled rooms that front the street. The shower area is partially walled from the rest. Just the right touch was placed on the amenities - traditional "florida water," which offers a light fragrance, organic hand milled soap, aromatherapy spritzer water, and local favorite, nutmeg oil awaited us on handpainted heavy aluminum plates. Every afternoon, we would return from the heat to large platters of mangoes, kiwi, sweet and savory local treats. it was an amazing week. Penang, George Town in particular, is a feast to the eyes. Must go. Must stay. We will be back! Thank you, Rebecca and David. You are the consummate hosts. And, it turned out that staying in Little India put us in the middle of everything. It's a lively neighborhood with much to experience.

Room Tip: Stay in the merchant house if you can. It's like living back in grand old times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were in Penang on business for 2.5 weeks and this was the perfect base with wonderful decor and lots of space to spread out our books etc.
You can walk to lots of the good bits of Penang from here including lots of fantastic food of course!
Rebecca and David were great hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to China Tiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Tiger

Address: No. 29 China Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — China Tiger 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home in the heritage zone! George Town UNESCO World Heritage SiteThe Studio Apartments are open plan- each apartment is approximately 1200sq. feet - with 1 king size bed and 3 singles. There is one apartment on each floor with a large dining table, proper kitchen area & seating area. They have their own entrances and are excessed via a staircase from the ground floor. The apartments provide a comfortable, relaxed, open & airy home for your time in George Town. 

No. 29 China Street, a 3 storey building, was probably rebuilt into its current form in the late 1940's or early 1950's. The building has a handsome Deco look with a Shanghai plaster finish to its exterior. We are available for short term rentals. 

In its previous life, this stylish building contained local business offices, then an illegal urban swiftlet farm for bird nests, but now transformed, it is an airy happy place with great views over the local festivals that come down our street. 

Decorated with a mixture of old and new furniture, found objects & artwork by the owner & other artists, the apartments have an air of vintage funky glamour. They are fully air-conditioned, with fans, hot showers, free Wifi and a TV and DVD player (DVD's provided). The bathrooms have 2 sinks, a dressing area, and a shower. 

The fully equipped kitchen is stocked with a Welcome grocery basket of all the basics: milk, cereal, bread, jams, fruit, biscuits and Maggie mee! 
China Tiger Studio Apartment is surrounded by wonderful architecture, spices and absolutely fabulous food! Georgetown has on offer- the colourful cultures, the festivals, street markets, food, wonderful traditional trades and some of the most interesting people in the world. All you have to do is step out of our front door! China Tiger provides a very special oasis in the middle of the very exciting heritage and cultural area of George Town. 

Guests can make themselves at home in the core zone of the UNESCO heritage site. Maps and information allow you to self guide and walk your way to the best sites George Town has to offer. 

You can walk through the whole 1 square mile of the UNESCO heritage zone & beyond. No cars needed! There is also a free bus service within this area. For excursions further afield we have great reliable cab drivers that you can call. Locally you can always hop onto a trishaw. Our aim is that you get the most out of your trip to George Town & we try to pass any current information on to you. If there are specific things you want to see please let us know in advance & we will try to get this ahead of time for you. 

We do require your ETA China Tiger in order to meet you on arrival at the apartments and make sure you have any information you may need. Keys are handed to you and you can come & go as you please. There is a cleaning service which matches to the time you are away from your apartment, or at an arranged time. Please make arrangements to see us on your departure or to leave keys in the apartment. 

Total number of Studio Apartments available: TWO (02) units 

Price quoted is based on ONE (01) unit basis for daily / weekly / monthly leasing. 

No smoking. No durians. No belacan. You can smoke and eat durian in the garden area downstairs. 

Each apartment is STRICTLY based on maximum of 5 persons sharing only. 
(Bedding Configuration: 1 x King sized bed & 3 x Single beds) 
Free Wifi 
Aircon & Fans 
Hot water 

Note: China Tiger is not suitable for the physically challenged. The Studio Apartments are excessed by a staircase. 

Pet Policy : NO PETS ALLOWED. 
The room has NO CAPACITY for extra bed. 
The apartments are to be used for lawful purposes only and we request that you respect quiet hours from 11pm to 7am for the comfort of all guests at China Tiger.RM500 per night per studio apartment. 1 king size bed and 3 singles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your China Tiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Tiger Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Tiger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.