We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Penaga to your Saves list
Hotel Penaga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Hutton Lane & Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality, boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel Penaga is a wonderful boutique hotel to stay in, central location. Room is spacious, nice design and furniture. Breakfast is decent, swimming pool very tiny but the general atmosphere in this hotel is valuable and that is what makes this hotel special.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    154
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
79
184
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

we stayed for two night .feel so welcome when we enter.The check in went fast , we got a room without blocony so bit noice from scoter shop ..but the room s good. we went to bar the staff are very friendly and help us about penang.The service is good they know what we want.Bfast food its ok for small hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is one of the new wave of “heritage hotels” being built all around Penang old town. Depending on the season, prices can vary from ok deal to extortionate, but is generally more expensive than comparable hotels closer to the center of town.

Location: North of town and less convenient than similar heritage hotels in this category.

Staff: Rather incompetent reception staff. We were given the wrong type of room and this simple error took far more time and energy to resolve than was necessary.

Staff at breakfast were so overly eager to be “of service” that their actions often made them in the way. It was a buffet and they could have better directed their energies to making sure the buffet didn’t run out of food an hour before breakfast was to end.

Rooms: Once we got our room issue resolved we found it to be spacious and comfortable. There was good light in the mornings through their attractive coloured glass windows. Our room faced the street and we found this more pleasant than the courtyard facing room we were first given. Amenities were as expected and cleaning staff were pleasant and professional.

Would stay again if other hotels in town were booked up, but would look elsewhere first if given a choice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for business but will definitely try and return for a holiday. I was in a lovely room complete with 2 balconies . The bed was comfy and the room was quiet and beautifully decorated . Staff were friendly and efficient . Location was great and close to everything . Would recommend for all types of travelers

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Love the hotel's decor and fittings; captions add to one's appreciation of the carefully-chosen art pieces. Our room, which faced the street, was a little noisy but by Day 2, we had gotten used to it. One way to look at it is that one gets a real feel of being in the thick of bustling Georgetown.

Penaga's central location in the heritage buffer zone certainly translates to easy walking access to the wonderful neighbourhoods and the heritage area.

The hotel garden is also gorgeous and the dining room pleasant. Breakfast could have varied more from day to day but the food was decent.

Service was terrific, including thought put into preparing us for checkout as well as a follow-up email asking for feedback.

And while the environment-friendly thrust of this property was not obvious, it was something we were pleased to support and it was a key reason for choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great rooms with traditional deco and ambience however with modern amenities such as flat screen LED tv and electronic safe box.
Close to Unesco sites, hawker food and city center.
Staffs Service attentive and ready Ronnie assist.

Room Tip: Room facing inwards towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pros: The staff are personable and eager to help. Our room is very tastefully done up and we could find various art pieces and cultural artifacts in our room. Our room was tidied up at least 3 times every day! We also got to learn more about the architect cum owner of this hotel, the hotel building and the restoration efforts as well as our room from reading the booklet found in the room.

Cons: The strength of the WIFI network is weak and the signal is intermittent. Lighting in the corridors is too dark. Very limited TV channels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Address: Corner of Hutton Lane & Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches,museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Penaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.