We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here again & loving it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Penaga to your Saves list
Hotel Penaga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Hutton Lane & Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SIMPLY PENAGA
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Here again & loving it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Last stayed here 2years ago, this time was in a suite with balcony, a little big for 2, a short walk from the lobby to a 2nd level
Best if you leave your key card in the room to keep the room cool the whole day, take a spare one at the front desk place is ok breakfast as usual eggs, toast, bread juices
Had a wonderful dinner last night
Plenty of eating places to explore local dishes, just a short hop
Getting to Gurney & back will cost RM $15
Penaga deserves a 3 star out of 4 ! Try it

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    194
    50
    21
    7
See reviews for
100
233
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We loved our stay here - the staff were really friendly and warm. When we left they told us to phone them anytime if we needed information or were in trouble - what great service.
Our room was on the first floor and was huge. We didn’t hear any sounds at night. I loved the big bathroom with a fabulous shower and a spa bath.
The food was okay - not dreadful but also not outstanding - we did room service a few times and breakfast every day.
We used the pool a lot - at first it was a bit disconcerting to swim been watched by all the visitors in the dining room - so after that we swam outside of lunch and dinner times. A great pool for swimming lengths and cooling down.
I’d love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overooking the garden looked nice and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed 4nights here. Hotel very noisy as we were given rooms directly opposite motorcycle Repair shop. Was relieved that they did not work sunday but then they worked extra late monday revving engines past midnight!
Breakfast ok and often we were the only ones there. Preferred nasi kandar restaurant across road.
Restaurant looks directly onto pool area.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing motorcycle shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Level Contributor
285 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I really liked this hotel - it had so much going for it - friendly helpful staff & beautiful furninshed room with good quality beds. Lift. Initially we stayed in a 1st floor room, which overlooked the road. Unfortunately although the room was double glazed it did not keep out the traffic noise - locals seemed to like to 'rev' up their motorbikes! We paid for an upgrade to the otherside of the hotel on the 3rd floor, where a room on two floors was available. Having the bedroom upstairs was no problem - we really liked it & enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the garden/lap pool

Breakfast was fine - it is important to understand that this hotel is small but the range of food was good & the scambled aggs were made to order.

The hotel was in our opinion close to the action & many of the best/ interesting places were within easy walking distances. I admit there weren't too many pavements - just take care. We went to the night hawker markets - the local one - Red Garden Food - may not be the best - but it was close by - very good fish stall. Clearly food is everything here - enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Well decorated and renovated boutique hotel. Great location within Georgetown. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Excellent service. Rooms quite big with high ceiling and furnished tastefully in Chinese style. Lot of art decoration around hotel. Rooms facing Jalan Hutton can be noisy from traffic. The breakfast was alright and included. They even have a small lap pool. Wireless internet worked well and is free. Penaga is a great hotel with very very friendly and helpful service and staff. It is a well converted row of old shop houses with spacious rooms individually furnished with comfortable large beds and very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Jalan Hutton can get noisy from street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Transfer Suite (without balcony) and absolutely loved it. It is not a far walk to Penang Road where the famous Assam Laksa and Cendol stall are at. The breakfast was alright, and the pool is rather small. The room we stayed in is huge. It comes with four post bed and Chinese styled bathroom. The room also have a iPhone/iPod dock where you can charge your Apple products and safety deposit box. It comes with a living room where you can watch TV. (you can't watch TV when you are in your bedroom) However, the couch that is used to furnished the living room is not very comfy and cozy. The shower is a bit small but the bathroom is big. We had problems with the water heater but it didn't bother us that much. The bathroom has a jacuzzi but we didn't manage to use it because it wasn't dispersing hot water. Just a note, they do have good wifi connection in the room BUT not Apple friendly. My guess is because they don't have an AirPort to support Apple products to get wifi connectivity. We wanted to have the in-room massage service, unfortunately during the time of our stay, they didn't have that service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a great hotel. The room was very nice, but a larger balcony would have been better. I'm not sure whether there is only one size balcony; it would be worth checking at booking whether this is the case.

The rain shower and spa bath are a welcome relief from the tropical heat.

Staff are friendly and service is good.

The included breakfast was of a high standard.

Loved the lap pool.

Charging RM5 for a 500ml bottle of water was ridiculous, and the staff member who told me the price agreed and was very embarrassed about it. I opted to get five litres from the 7Eleven nearby.

I will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 71 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 71 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#7 of 71 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#10 of 71 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang
Hotel Jen Penang
#22 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Address: Corner of Hutton Lane & Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches,museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Penaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.