We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & friendly hotel - but did have some noise problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Penaga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Penaga to your Saves list
Hotel Penaga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Hutton Lane & Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in George Town
lincs UK
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“Beautiful & friendly hotel - but did have some noise problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I really liked this hotel - it had so much going for it - friendly helpful staff & beautiful furninshed room with good quality beds. Lift. Initially we stayed in a 1st floor room, which overlooked the road. Unfortunately although the room was double glazed it did not keep out the traffic noise - locals seemed to like to 'rev' up their motorbikes! We paid for an upgrade to the otherside of the hotel on the 3rd floor, where a room on two floors was available. Having the bedroom upstairs was no problem - we really liked it & enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the garden/lap pool

Breakfast was fine - it is important to understand that this hotel is small but the range of food was good & the scambled aggs were made to order.

The hotel was in our opinion close to the action & many of the best/ interesting places were within easy walking distances. I admit there weren't too many pavements - just take care. We went to the night hawker markets - the local one - Red Garden Food - may not be the best - but it was close by - very good fish stall. Clearly food is everything here - enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    154
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
79
184
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Well decorated and renovated boutique hotel. Great location within Georgetown. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Excellent service. Rooms quite big with high ceiling and furnished tastefully in Chinese style. Lot of art decoration around hotel. Rooms facing Jalan Hutton can be noisy from traffic. The breakfast was alright and included. They even have a small lap pool. Wireless internet worked well and is free. Penaga is a great hotel with very very friendly and helpful service and staff. It is a well converted row of old shop houses with spacious rooms individually furnished with comfortable large beds and very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Jalan Hutton can get noisy from street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Transfer Suite (without balcony) and absolutely loved it. It is not a far walk to Penang Road where the famous Assam Laksa and Cendol stall are at. The breakfast was alright, and the pool is rather small. The room we stayed in is huge. It comes with four post bed and Chinese styled bathroom. The room also have a iPhone/iPod dock where you can charge your Apple products and safety deposit box. It comes with a living room where you can watch TV. (you can't watch TV when you are in your bedroom) However, the couch that is used to furnished the living room is not very comfy and cozy. The shower is a bit small but the bathroom is big. We had problems with the water heater but it didn't bother us that much. The bathroom has a jacuzzi but we didn't manage to use it because it wasn't dispersing hot water. Just a note, they do have good wifi connection in the room BUT not Apple friendly. My guess is because they don't have an AirPort to support Apple products to get wifi connectivity. We wanted to have the in-room massage service, unfortunately during the time of our stay, they didn't have that service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a great hotel. The room was very nice, but a larger balcony would have been better. I'm not sure whether there is only one size balcony; it would be worth checking at booking whether this is the case.

The rain shower and spa bath are a welcome relief from the tropical heat.

Staff are friendly and service is good.

The included breakfast was of a high standard.

Loved the lap pool.

Charging RM5 for a 500ml bottle of water was ridiculous, and the staff member who told me the price agreed and was very embarrassed about it. I opted to get five litres from the 7Eleven nearby.

I will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an old style shop house--several joined together. Had our own veranda. Carved wood and details in our room. Old style charm, wood paneling. Jacuzi in room. Lovely pool in garden for swimming laps. Nice meals, Good breakfast choices--western and asian.

Room Tip: Don't take the two story room, bathroom is downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A very beautifully done up couple of heritage buildings with surprisingly large rooms. Service was patchy and at times chaotic, but the will to be helpful was there. Avoid any buffets or high teas as they were very inferior. In fact apart from breakfast, stick to a snacks only policy at the hotel. The lap pool was attractive, but very public and shockingly cool. The spa was not operating when we visited. In terms of location, quite a bit of walking was needed to connect you with the heart of Georgetown and it was difficult to get trishaws from outside the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for an interior deluxe room. Our room looked onto the street, but fortunately efficient double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

What an amazing hotel experience. Room was exceptionally well furnished with comfortable (hard) bed, a jacuzzi bath and swedish shower. Quiet rooms enabled a good night's rest to be had. Location is good as it is only around 10-15m walk to most areas of interest. Didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Room Hutton 8 is nicely in a corner and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Penaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penaga

Address: Corner of Hutton Lane & Clarke Street, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Family Hotel in George Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penaga 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia, this hotel is a hotel with its own heritage charm while providing finest modern hotel expectations, is converted from a cluster of 15 pre-war terraces and shop-houses which spans along Hutton Lane, Transfer Road & Clarke Street. Within walking distance, the hotel is just a few minutes’ walk away from amazing heritage temples, pre-war heritage houses, churches,museum and variety of antique shops, restaurants & bars and not forgetting local hawker foods stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Penaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penaga Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Penaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.