We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palanquinn Heritage Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palanquinn Heritage Suites to your Saves list
Palanquinn Heritage Suites
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   20 Bangkok Lane | Pulau Tikus, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 147 George Town B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A unique and wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here in January 2013 - one of the most enjoyable stays I've experienced despite my initial reservations. Nothing fancy here but it has all the charm and ambiance of pre-war Penang/Asia that you could want. We got the terrace suite, which adequately accommodated our family of 2 adults and 3 kids. No maintenance issues - they provided extra mattresses and pillows for the kids that I had requested. The bathroom set up was interesting and quite contemporary -Taking a shower on the verandah was a unique experience (don't worry there is adequate privacy provided by the screen). The staff and manager were very helpful. Having wifi and good TV channels for the kids was a plus. The proximity to Gurney Drive plaza, hawker stalls and Buddhist temple attractions in the area was great - we walked and ate a lot during our very enjoyable stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
36
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Palanquinn Heritage suites is located in the heritage area of Penang with beautifully designed bungalows converted suites.
Just walking distance from Gurney Drive - Gurney Drive Street Food, Sea-Side walk, Gurney Plaza & malls.
Our stay at the suite was very good, Jennifer who is the manager is very helpful and provided us with a lot of information (better than guides/maps) on what to do & where to eat in Penang.
The suite itself was very beautiful with the bathroom designed spaciously in a covered bathroom.
Our only complaint during the stay was with the Air-Conditioner which refused to cool up the room even if left on the entire day. Despite requesting the staff nothing much could be done.
May be that is the reason a table fan was provided :| !!
Nevertheless, we expected some compensation/explanations for no AC working!
But there was no reaction from the staff on that.
This was a disappointment as the room rates were high enough to provide AC in the least.

Nevertheless, our stay there was good minus the AC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalanquInn, Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear DedeepyaSunil,

We apologize that the air-conditioning did not meet your expectation. Because Palanquinn is a restored heritage house with higher ceilings, the rooms may take some time to cool down. Nevertheless we have taken your feedback constructively and are looking into ways to improve this. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Pros: Great location, heritage flavor, polite staff

Cons:
Staff is not available after 6pm, so you are on your own in case there is a problem.
Rooms are too small. But I understand that can't be changed as it is a heritage house. I would never put it in the category of a hotel. Guest house...maybe. But homestay is what it is more of.

The worst:
Our shower had electric current and on complaining, the staff showed no sense of urgency to fix it. They told us the mechanic will come only in an hour and till then we have to wait. It was crazy. So, all the marks for politeness go down the drain, as the service is zero. There is nothing else to rate service on, as they don't have a restaurant or room service. And is highly overpriced for the kind of service they had. I would pay half the money or even less to stay in a place like that.

P.S.: It was my birthday and they managed to ruin my morning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalanquInn, Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear TravelIndiaInc,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation.

Your point is well taken; we are a boutique heritage bed &breakfast, as indicated in our website. As we are not a full fledged hotel, our office is shut after office hours but our staffs are always just a phone call away. All our phone numbers are provided and we do try to accommodate outside of office hours as best we can. Like most bed & breakfast type accommodations, there is typically no accompanying restaurant, although we are walking distance for some of Penang’s best local food.

We recall your complaint re the electric current. You demanded that it be fixed within 5 minutes; the electrician came within the hour.

We sincerely apologize for inadvertently ruining your morning. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

After looking through lots of good reviews about this hotel, I found it a great deal of disappointment after experiencing myself. Air-conditioner was not functioning well, Astro(tv channel) couldn't be turn on, and hot water for bathtub is cold. Nothing can be worst than these 3 most important facilities in the room not working. After mentioning to the staff, the feedback I get was they receive similar complaints from previous customer and yet no fixes were done. The 1 most unacceptable part is I am aware of the 'cold' water bath problem from some previous reviews and so I called the hotel before booking. The staff assured me it isn't a problem but IT WAS NEVER fixed! I trusted the staff and made the most regretful booking ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalanquInn, Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Alelim19,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation.

We provide cable TV in the rooms; we have looked into it and can confirm that it is in order. Because Palanquinn is a restored heritage house with higher ceilings, the rooms may take some time to cool down. Nevertheless we have taken your feedback constructively and are looking into ways to improve this. As for the hot water, we inspected the boiler and have not had a reoccurring problem since.

We have very well noted all your concerns and constantly strive to improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The facilities, staff & location were all excellent. We loved it so much we extended from 4 to 6 nights!!
Arriving late we were greeted by a hand written welcome sign which was a lovely touch.The Mezzanine 2 room was clean, & the outside bathroom was huge yet private. The next morning the staff gave us a detailed outline of nearby food stalls, the bus routes & local attractions. It was nice to experience a local area rather than the more touristy George Town. Jennifer & her staff were extremely helpful, providing a list of vegetarian eating places, and even walked us to one of her favorites. Later she emailed a comprehensive list of vegie places in George Town, a nice personal touch. We spent the last 3 nights in the larger suite, if you're staying longer I would recommend spending that little bit more to stay there. All in all a memorable stay; I thoroughly recommend Palanquinn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Despite its curious name of "Pulau Tikus", which translates as "Rat Island", Pulau Tikus is actually a small suburb of George Town. It is neither an island nor is it infested with rats. Instead it is actually named after a small rocky islet located off the north-east coast of Penang.

Pulau Tikus has in the past been home to small Siamese and Burmese communities, and this can be seen in the road names which reflect places located in those two countries. Subsequently it has also been home to the Eurasian community and has always been considered a high end residential area by Penangites.

Bangkok Lane is one of the nicer roads in Pulau Tikus, consisting of two rows of 41 townhouses of similar design. Built in 1928, by Cheah Leong Keah, these pretty pre-war houses are still in remarkably good shape and still owned by the Cheah family.

The Palanquinn Heritage Suites occupy some of these old townhouse, while others are lived in/ rented by locals. The office is in one the townhouse in the middle of the street, we just walked in and luckily they had a suite available.

The suite we took was the Terrace Suite at no.39, which is basically on the ground floor of one of the second townhouse on the right at the start of Bangkok Lane, right near the hub-bub of the adjacent Burmah Road, which is one of the main thoroughfares in George Town. Other suites available include the Loft Suite which is on top of the Terrace Suite. There are 2 mezzanine suites at no.20, Bangkok Lane and the Dwell suites at no.17.

The Terrace Suite has its own outdoor veranda, where you can sit and watch the going-ons on the street and the mee goreng (fried noodles) stall at the kopitiam (chinese coffee shop) opposite the road. If you drive, you can park on the street side bays, which is a bit difficult during the day due to the busy daytime activities. The roadside council attendant will place a ticket on your windshield for you to pay for the use of the bay; just pass the ticket to the management of Palanquinn who will settle the parking tickets for you. At night, parking is easy, as there are hardly any cars.

The terrace suite is large, with air-cond, fan, double bed, lcd television, dresser and other period appropriate furniture. Other reviews have mentioned on the hard floors, well it is an old pre-war house. The walk-in bathroom is huge, and does not have any doors separating it from the bedroom area. Ceilings are high, as expected in these pre-wars buildings.

If you want the experience of living in an authentic pre-war house in an authentic penang street, you cannot go far wrong staying in these suites. If you need the mod-cons and do not want to be awakened by sounds of the street in the early morning, check into your run-of-the mill big chain hotels instead. For me, give me the authenticity over the hotels anytime!

Room Tip: Terrace suite does not have bathroom doors, so suitable for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are bored with branded hotels and looking for the distinctively different, try this welcoming and well-managed Heritage Hotel, just off Jalan Burmah and near hosts of eating places, a market and interesting organic shops. Remember you are stepping back in time, and although you will have one of the quietist airconditioning units I have experienced, the hard surfaces of walls and floors and absence of soundproofing like double-glazing don't offer much relief from the noise of passing motorbikes. Nonetheless, management offers much useful information on arrival so you can become an instantly well-oriented traveller. And when you return from your peripatetic stroll in the hot Penang sun, you can have a shower in the immaculately clean bathroom installed - with awnings and curtains - on. the open air balcony above the street. Not many hotel brands have outdoor balcony bathooms:-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palanquinn Heritage Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palanquinn Heritage Suites

Address: 20 Bangkok Lane | Pulau Tikus, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palanquinn Heritage Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palanquinn is a captivating boutique Bed & Breakfast, comprising two lovely and private heritage suites, located on Bangkok Lane on the island of Penang, Malaysia. Our property is among the collection of colonial pre-war townhouses dating back to the 1920s, where two beautiful rows of heritage houses line this street, immortalized in time.At Palanquinn Heritage Suites, experience for yourself the legacy of its rich heritage and the intimacy of a comfortable and personalized milieu during your sojourn in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Palanquinn Heritage Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palanquinn Heritage Suites Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palanquinn Heritage Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.