We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious cup of tea in a very pleasant setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tea Home Cafe

Tea Home Cafe
6 Lebuh Cintra, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
604-2612 496, 6016-4310183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 460 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Located at Penang Heritage area, cozy and relaxing place. We provide several quality Chinese tea and as well.
Global Village
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A delicious cup of tea in a very pleasant setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

After spending the day sightseeing in Georgetown, my wife and I were walking back to our guesthouse. Although the day was almost over, we were not quite ready to go to bed yet. Just across the street from our accommodation we have noticed a small teahouse and we decided to pay a visit. The kindness of the very hospitable staff was only surpassed by the quality and the selection of teas they offered. We had a delightful and soothing pot of tea as we were winding down at the end of a busy day...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating place for tea lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was one of the highlights of my stay in Penang. A small, lovely place with a wide variety of Chinese teas, porcelains, etc. Tea is bought and served here. The staff is welcoming and speaks good English.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Highlight of Penang Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wandered in to Mr Tan's cafe to be treated to a tasting of his amazing collection of teas while he explained the details of how they were created as we sipped the different styles.
This would rank as a highlight of my trip to Penang and should be enjoyed by all who want to learn more about the culture by way of tea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stop here for tea to soothe your soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stumbled upon this place by mistake - just off the main tourist street Lebuh Chulia. I fell in love as soon as I entered - rare and beautiful teas, old-style decor, music from days gone by on the wireless, immaculate bone china. Delicious orang caraway cake and red bubble tea. Happy was I.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very comfortable atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

good food, good services, good atmosphere, they do served very good chinese tea. Selling tea pots also and provided free maps even free wifi .

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea Home Cafe also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Tea Home Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea Home Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.