We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“porky goodness!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tek Sen Restaurant

Tek Sen Restaurant
18, Lebuh Carnarvon, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 129815117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 503 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
georgetown
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“porky goodness!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

while there are a number of restaurants that serve pork, this is the best place that serves very good pork dishes with reasonable prices. i visited the place several times with my husband and all meals were very good. always left the place more than satisfied. when the place is busy, it is still amazing that they are able to bring the orders at reasonable times. a place that is always worth recommending to pork lovers.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    122
    41
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston Tasmania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Tek Sen was recommended to us by the owner of our accommodation. He advised us to get there early and we are glad we did! We sat down at 6 pm (as soon as it opened for the evening session) and by 6.25 pm there was one table left! I can't even remember all of the dishes we had as we ordered a number of small portions and then shared - a good way to go so that you can try as many different things as possible. The food was just beautiful and clearly all the diners on tables near us thought the same - we've never seen plates cleared so quickly!!!!! The restaurant itself is nothing fancy but it is clean, very lively and most importantly the food is fabulous!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eating my way through Penang again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am new to Trip Advisor but not new to Penang. Last time I was here I didn't see this place. Nicely done. 2 shop houses converted into one restaurant and young Chinese people who spent some time in the US created a Hawker food place which is much cleaner and organized than most of them. Locals came in both times I was there in bigger groups and seem to get a bit better attention than tourists but I think that's just the way it is. The food is good and I will go back again. It costs a bit more - not much more - than usual, but that's the price you pay for cleanliness.The place has a nice feel. Come a bit before normal lunchtime to make sure you get a seat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We could tell that this was a good eating place as the restaurant was fully packed. We managed to secure the last table and were well rewarded!
There is a fantastic choice of dishes to choose from and we enjoyed our meal thoroughly. We were recommended 'pear' soup, tried it with some reservation but it was brilliant.
Service was fast and furious and smoking whilst eating was an acceptable practice.
Good ambiance, noisy and fairly hot but a fun place to eat in.
We would certainly go back there again- recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Food was average given the Trip Advisor award that we saw hanging on the wall so we were expecting a lot more!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tek Sen Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Tek Sen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tek Sen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.