We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Accident” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tek Sen Restaurant

Tek Sen Restaurant
18, Lebuh Carnarvon, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 129815117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 459 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy Accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were sent to go to another restaurant and as it was closed checked out Tek Sen since it had a crowd at the door. We were not disappointed. It was the best meal of our 3 week trip! This is the restaurant you'd want to move in to your street. Cheap, cute & delicious. They solved my usual problem with Chinese restaurants by offering multiple serving sizes. We had 3 small dishes and rice and didn't stuff ourselves too full! Great restaurant doing everything right!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    108
    35
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“I still dream about the double roasted pork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice after sampling the double roasted pork....words cannot describe how good this pork actually is.

We asked the staff for suggestions with all other dishes and were not disappointed. The nutmeg juice is also a massive winner.

Love this place! Come early otherwise you may have to line up....it is worth it though!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The locals call it tall hat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really good Penang food, if you come to Penang for the food u must try this place.

Chu cha style, my fav is the cili padi fried with roast pork in black sauce, sambal kangkung, fish curry, steam fish teochew style, the soups, steam pork with egg etc

A man will come n take ur order, just let him recommend to you he estimates well the portions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This used to be a little local place, and has now developed into a more "modern and clean" restaurant... but it still has the charm of the old authentic place. We were back twice and loved the food! Had chicken with ginger and onions one of the nights - and that was my favorite. Here you find both locals and tourists, and the prices are very reasonable! A must place to visit while in Georgetown!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent local Chinese and Nonya food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Had been to this restaurant many times, and always packed whether lunch or dinner. They take reservation and I would recommend making reservation to avoid having to wait during peak hours.

They serve a combination of local nonya and Chinese food, so not exactly a nonya restaurant. This is a casual restaurant and what local call 煮炒(cook fried), so dishes are typically simple dishes. Food quality are very good. English menu is available, so no worries for non-Chinese speaking.

The stir fried roast pork, fried kung kong, yam duck and curry fish are some of the dishes not to be missed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tek Sen Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Tek Sen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tek Sen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.