We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Save Saved
You added Yeng Keng Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Yeng Keng Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   362 & 366, Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“cosy boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in the heart of Georgetown. Walking distance to places of interest, wall murals & food.

Room is clean but the downside is it might be alittle too small.

Staff were excellent.. friendly & helpful!

If you are taking taxi, would advise you to get it on the streets outside the hotel. It's pretty expensive if they call taxi for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    138
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
87
264
43
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days, loved it. We soaked in Georgetown and loved walking, sampling hawker food, seeing beautiful Chinese shop houses. The hotel was a wonderful haven to escape the heat and madness ( also smoke, we were there when the Indonesia fires were running riot). The locals were so friendly. Hotel was tasteful and liked all the little touches like the toothpaste,toothbrush,razor and shaving foam.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

room was fine, location good but I needed leave a day early and I was forced to pay for a day I didn't use or need. I wouldn't go back because of that reason. I did like the architecture of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I will probably regret writing this review - it's like sharing the Gower coast with the world - not lightly done!
Accurately described as boutique, this hotel is the calm in the bustle of Georgetown.
Recently renovated to a very high standard the hotel has the atmosphere of a traditional Chinese mansion, situated privately with its own grounds, quiet pool and courtyard.
Ground floor bedroom was compact but stylishly furnished and comfortable.
Adjacent to the hotel is the Yeng Keng cafe that serves residents a cosmopolitan and varied breakfast and is also open to the public. Lunch and dinner menus are reasonably varied and are attractively priced, as is the bar.
Staff were exceptionally efficient, helpful and polite.
The decor is traditional and characterful; just outside the gate you greet the buzzing cosmopolitan community that is Georgetown.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I was very interested to book 2 nights stay at Yeng Keng. I can summed up my online experience and my phone call to a receptionist lady at yeng Keng on sunday 14 july, 7pm as utterly disappointing.
Firstly... The Mansion Double Room was listed as having 1 King size bed in BOTH hotel.com and www.yengkenghotel.com.my. When I enquired further I found out to my great dismay that it is 2 single beds joined together. I was then told for a family of 3, ie husband, wife and a child of 4 years old we have to take Courtyard Family room. Even the beds in the Courtyard Family room was listed as having a king size bed. I feedbacked to the receptionist that it is misleading. She replied, it is out of her control.

Secondly, I wanted to understand the hotel's children policies, so I enquired what if I my family is a family of 3, husband, wife and a child of 1 year old, the receptionist says we have to take a baby cot. I said I didn't need one, how do you charge? And the lady receptionist told me, it depends on the situation. I asked, what situation? And she replied, perhaps I can call back later and speak with her superior in the most agitated fashion!

I was quite shocked by then, but I was cordial still. I said, so you wldnt be able to help me then? She said she can, and she has already answered my questions but I continued asking this and that
Wow wow wow.. Astonishing!

I'm sorry to say I wld not be making my stay here unless the service level is stepped up. The hotel looks beautiful, however, with undertrained staffs like the one I just experienced, the hotel will definitely see a dent in its reputation and ultimately bottom line.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nice small hotel.(10-12 rooms in total) Spacious rooms, friendly staff, and a beautiful building.
Great atmosphere, and a nice little pool in the back. Several notches up from the other hotels in that street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed 3 nights at the Yeng Keng Hotel and were not disappointed. It was renovated in 2009 and they did a great job.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who were always willing to help with any requests or questions we had. We stayed in a mansion room next to reception which was quiet. The hotel is set back from the busy Chulia St and from our room we could not hear the noise from the street
The room was modern and clean.
A delicious smorgasbord breakfast was included in the room rate.
Location is excellent being in the middle of Chinatown. Local buses stop very close to the hotel. These are cheap and can be used to get anywhere on the island. There is also the route of the free shuttle bus not far away on Penang Rd which travels around the main tourist destinations in Georgetown.
There is also a great hawker stall setup close to the hotel near the corner of Chulia St and Carnarvon St where we enjoyed noodle / chicken dish, spring rolls and peanut ball sweet dish all prepared and cooked in front of us. We also loved the fresh fruit juice prepared at the stall while we waited. Penang is the place to go for good food and these hawker stalls provided us with the best evening meals we tried in Penang.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/Georgetown
Address: 362 & 366, Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#3 Business Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang.Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel.The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street, at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House', adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street.Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeng Keng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.