We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Yeng Keng Hotel to your Saves list
Yeng Keng Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   362 & 366, Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in George Town
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location and beautiful restored old Chinese shophouse. Staff is very friendly and helpful in giving you tips to going the "local route" on the food scene. My room was a tab small but since I was solo it was perfect. Strong shower pressure, traditional ceiling fan with the AC worked perfectly to keep the room at the perfect climate - not too cold and not too hot.

Room Tip: All the rooms from what I can tell where great. I stay in the closest room to the entrance and albe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    163
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
98
294
45
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Yeng Keng for three nights during our honeymoon trip. We were delighted by the very friendly, kind, welcoming, helpful and efficient staff members at the hotel. Like other guests we requested a room at the back of the hotel, it was quiet, comfortable and clean which was wonderful. We loved the hotel not only for its high standard but for its location. From the hotel we could walk around and enjoy all that Georgetown has to offer. Yeng Keng was a fabulous place to come to at the end of a busy day sightseeing. Unlike many other hotels we have stayed at in Asia, Yeng Keng offered healthy alternatives in there breakfast buffet which was a lovely way to start our day. We highly recommend this place!! Love Hayley and morrice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Beautiful staff, nicely furnished rooms, right in the middle of the heritage city ... but the surrounding area is pure 3rd world. I confess I prefer 4-5 * large hotel accommodation so, in hindsight, I should never have made the reservations. The smell from open street drains, wet markets and mower mechanics working on the pavement nearby is quite off-putting. Our travelling group enjoyed drinks and then lingered for lunch at the Eastern & Oriental Hotel and, for my needs, this would be where I would stay if I were ever to return to Penang.

Room Tip: Our room was a Mansion Deluxe with our door unfortunately opening directly onto the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My partner and I spent a relaxing and comfortable six nights at this boutique hotel in the heart of Georgetown. From the minute of our arrival when the doormen provided us with umbrellas to keep us dry from the afternoon monsoon rain to our early morning departure when the desk clerk helped us with our luggage, the staff at the Yeng Keng was professional, friendly and helpful. The daytime front desk clerk Yeoh was very helpful in providing tips on what to see in Georgetown and the rest of Penang. I highly recommend fellow travellers stay at this wonderful property.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at the Yeng Keng, I would suggest that you stay in one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

After a 6 night stay, we wholeheartedly encourage other travellers to consider the Yeng Keng. Centrally located in one of UNESCO's Heritage City's and artfully appointed, the Chulia Suite was excellent value and perfect for two people. The cleaning staff kept our room spotless while the restaurant team never failed to impress with their excellent selection of hawker and Western breakfast food as well as their interest in helping us maximize our time in Georgetown. Nazrul took excellent care of us when we returned to the hotel, tired after a day of wandering. And then there was Yeoh.....she ensured our stay balanced the typical tourist sights and when asked, provided the "off the beaten track" recommendations too......thank -you Yeoh for the Burmese/Thai New Year celebration recommendation - a highlight of our stay. Excellent staff, superb location - an oasis of serenity to retreat to.....see you again, Yeng Keng Team.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Southern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My friend and I decided to stay here based on the reviews of others. So glad we did!

Charming boutique hotel. Unique colors and touches. Great location. Cold drink upon arrival. Nice people. Recommendations from staff for food and places to go complete with map. Breakfast included. Bar/cafe. Nice service. Clean. Parking. Basics you would need available in room.


When we arrived at the hotel in the evening, after exploring the city, we found it was the site of a film crew. A Hong Kong series was being shot in front of hotel. Just added to the charm and liveliness of the night. We watched from the inside bar/restaurant.

Really enjoyed the stay. Definitely would return to the Yeng Keng Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We found a faithfully reproduced Chinese House which has been beautifully appointed as a small boutique hotel. We loved the colour scheme, the furniture and the surroundings of the lobby and inner courtyards. The room itself was on the small side but perfectly adequate for our 4 night, 3 day stay. The cleaning staff were most courteous and bathroom/toilet replenished with toiletries and cleaned perfectly every day. The reception staff were always ready with a smile to answer queries. However we have to particularly mention Yeow, who was a joy, and her knowledge and advice about local food and places to visit was superb. Our congratulations to the management and staff of the Yeng Keng Hotel, their beautiful hotel and staff has made another trip back to Penang a must.

Joy Marwood and Lyn Parkin - Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs away from the road and upstairs are much quieter: ours was 206.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Address: 362 & 366, Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#4 Family Hotel in George Town
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang.Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel.The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street, at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House', adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street.Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeng Keng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.