We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Yeng Keng Hotel to your Saves list
Yeng Keng Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   362 & 366, Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in George Town
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights here for a couple's weekend. The hotel is newly renovated, with clean, comfortable & efficient rooms (small by American standards) that include AC and wi-fi. Breakfast was included in our stay for both days.The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the major sites in Georgetown. The staff was superb. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted, as our bags were taken from the taxi to our rooms and we were served with an ice-cold orange drink. Throughout our stay, the staff were helpful, pleasant and resourceful. They made recommendations on our trips & helped us schedule massages at a local spa, as well as book taxis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    163
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
98
294
45
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at the Yeng Keng Hotel in early March for two nights. I was in Penang for a business trip so was looking for a centrally located, comfortable hotel that could also add to the experience of historical George Town. It was a good choice.

On arrival, the reception staff were super friendly and super efficient, even knew my name when I walked in the door. The entrance is set back from Labuh Chulia with a comfortable courtyard that creates a slight separation from the packs of too cool for school Western tourists meandering between the string of bars and cheaper guesthouses that dot the neighbourhood. The hotel itself is a nicely restored old building, with perhaps just a bit much polish, say in comparison to Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion. This is not a negative comment (having also stayed at Cheong Fatt Tze) – they are two different experiences.

Overall, the Yeng Keng Hotel is very nicely appointed, well maintained and has its own positive atmosphere. I stayed on the first floor overlooking the lobby. The room was clean, comfortable and comes equipped with WiFi and that other much-appreciated modcon, a hot water boiler. The ceilings are very high with a ceiling fan a nice convenience. Breakfast was included, buffet style with a good range of local and Western staples, served up at the attached café. Extra kudos go to the young lady at the reception who, after I inquired about arranging a taxi to the airport at 6 am, thought it extremely unfortunate that I would miss breakfast and arranged for a sandwich and yoghurt so I wouldn't leave on an empty stomach.

I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for reasonably upscale, reasonably priced and very comfortable accommodation in George Town. I booked directly through the hotel's Internet reservation page and the response was efficient and, again, friendly with a personalised touch. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After three nights at Yeng Keng I feel relaxed and refreshed. The hotel has a great atmosphere, and with its central location you can reach most of "downtown" Georgetown on foot. I stayed in the second-floor Garden Suite, and it was nice, clean and well-appointed, and it's good to have both aircon and a fan. Although I didn't use the pool as much as I had thought I would, it's nice to have the option. Oh, and the reception staff was extremely helpful and charming! I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Welcome to Georgetown, Penang ! An idyllic 19th century historical town of East and West blending in beautiful architectural harmony. Particularly, This Boutique Hotel, Yeng Keng Hotel, with Lotuses and Dragons carved in The Sky. A Small very clean and well maintained 19th century hotel. The rooms are designed in Victorian Style. There is garden in the front of the hotel where you can have coffee and a small swimming pool in the back with carved Chinese paintings. You will like it, even if it is just a visit to have a cup of coffee. The Georgetown neighbourhood is very interesting with many hisotrical old buildings in Western and Oriental styles. Some have been renovated white washed cleaned. There are many small Buddhist Temples around town, also incredibly beautiful museums of "Peranakkan Chinese" (Chinese Descendants). Well adorned with intricate wooden carvings, paintings and old photos. Georgetown, Penang is really Pearl of Asia, worth visiting and enjoying, where Dragon and Phoenix are still dancing in harmony.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The building has a great sense of past times, the staff make you feel right at home. Rooms are clean and very nice decorated, but a bit small. The breakfast was amazing, with local specialties like Nasi Lemak and Roti Canei, very tasteful! A relaxing drink in the courtyard and a quick dip in the small pool renew your energy.

The hotel is right at the bustling and busy Chulia street, near the main attractions. At night there are a lot of hawker stalls in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Have just returned from a 7 night stay in the hotel and can only say what a gem. We booked after reading other reviews and were not disappointed. Location is perfect, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was a refreshing change from the standard hotel offerings. So the rooms were a bit small but with Georgetown to explore who is going to spend time in the hotel. The pool was small but big enough to cool down in after a day's exploring.

Georgetown was a delight. Eating on the streets was amazing, such good quality and such low prices. The fresh fruit juices were fantastic, the people so friendly and best of all, no hassle from the traders.

Room Tip: We had the Chulia suite which is at the front of the hotel on the first floor. There was some traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Agree with other reviews that is a good choice. Amazing to walk down a busy street and find the hotel is situated here. While the room we had, 2 singles, courtyard view was small, it still was well appointed. The pool was similarly small, but pleasant to sunbathe by, however if a number of people had the same idea, well there would not be the room. That being said, it would not put me off coming back. Simple touches like free fruit and iced water, welcoming and helpful staff, and good location to explore being among the reasons why.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Address: 362 & 366, Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang.Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel.The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street, at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House', adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street.Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeng Keng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.