We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 19th Century Gorgeous Boutique Hotel in The Heart of Historical Town, Georgetown, Penang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Save Saved
You added Yeng Keng Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yeng Keng Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   362 & 366, Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A 19th Century Gorgeous Boutique Hotel in The Heart of Historical Town, Georgetown, Penang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Welcome to Georgetown, Penang ! An idyllic 19th century historical town of East and West blending in beautiful architectural harmony. Particularly, This Boutique Hotel, Yeng Keng Hotel, with Lotuses and Dragons carved in The Sky. A Small very clean and well maintained 19th century hotel. The rooms are designed in Victorian Style. There is garden in the front of the hotel where you can have coffee and a small swimming pool in the back with carved Chinese paintings. You will like it, even if it is just a visit to have a cup of coffee. The Georgetown neighbourhood is very interesting with many hisotrical old buildings in Western and Oriental styles. Some have been renovated white washed cleaned. There are many small Buddhist Temples around town, also incredibly beautiful museums of "Peranakkan Chinese" (Chinese Descendants). Well adorned with intricate wooden carvings, paintings and old photos. Georgetown, Penang is really Pearl of Asia, worth visiting and enjoying, where Dragon and Phoenix are still dancing in harmony.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    149
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
277
44
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The building has a great sense of past times, the staff make you feel right at home. Rooms are clean and very nice decorated, but a bit small. The breakfast was amazing, with local specialties like Nasi Lemak and Roti Canei, very tasteful! A relaxing drink in the courtyard and a quick dip in the small pool renew your energy.

The hotel is right at the bustling and busy Chulia street, near the main attractions. At night there are a lot of hawker stalls in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Have just returned from a 7 night stay in the hotel and can only say what a gem. We booked after reading other reviews and were not disappointed. Location is perfect, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was a refreshing change from the standard hotel offerings. So the rooms were a bit small but with Georgetown to explore who is going to spend time in the hotel. The pool was small but big enough to cool down in after a day's exploring.

Georgetown was a delight. Eating on the streets was amazing, such good quality and such low prices. The fresh fruit juices were fantastic, the people so friendly and best of all, no hassle from the traders.

Room Tip: We had the Chulia suite which is at the front of the hotel on the first floor. There was some traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Agree with other reviews that is a good choice. Amazing to walk down a busy street and find the hotel is situated here. While the room we had, 2 singles, courtyard view was small, it still was well appointed. The pool was similarly small, but pleasant to sunbathe by, however if a number of people had the same idea, well there would not be the room. That being said, it would not put me off coming back. Simple touches like free fruit and iced water, welcoming and helpful staff, and good location to explore being among the reasons why.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise to enter this quiet, treasured isle from the busy main street. Yeng Keng Hotel proved itself to be one of the top heritage hotels in Penang. The architectural of this 2-storey building of the 1800s remained in the hotel, you will spot several air wells, as well as the beautiful carvings at the patio. There was a little corner outside the hotel, a cupboard of artifacts from the old Yeng Keng Hotel. It was nice to know they still keep a part of the past with them and shared with everyone who stayed in this place.

I have made the the booking from the hotel official website. Upon check in, the friendly lady at the reception was already expecting our arrival. Check in was fuss-free, though there was a little hiccup in the payment which was quickly rectified (my card was swiped for the full stay though we were ready to pay in cash. She void the transaction and accepted cash payment).

Room was neat with amenities in place (toiletries, assorted towels, bar fridge, water flask, etc.) I like the idea of having a ceiling fan in addition to the aircon, this made better air circulation in the room. We were staying at level 2, in the common area there were resting areas with games and magazines should you prefer to laze in the hotel.

We were spoilt in choices in the complimentary breakfast. The air well brought in natural sunlight into the cafe and that perk up our morning instantly. There was a spread of local food and desserts, as well as some simple american breakfast.

At night, walk to your left from the hotel and you will be in rows of local delicacies along Chulia Street.

Room Tip: Choose level 2 for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC,NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked the Yeng Keng hotel after reading the TA reviews. This is my second time in Penang so I knew the Georgetown and Batu Ferenghi. First of all, upon arriving for my 10 night stay I found out that the complete cost of the stay had been charged to my credit card! When I checked with my card I found out that I had been charged 10 days before my arrival. When I explained my displeasure with this, I was told that it was a mistake,and that they meant just to authorize the charge. They then told me that they had neglected to charge 330 RM and would I authorize it. My response was, I would authorize the additional sum upon checkout, which is when all charges should be billed.
Now to the hotel itself which is a nicely restored house that appears to have been Peranakan. The furnishings are pleasant and the sitting areas are also a plus. My room a "Mansion Double" on the second floor was rather dark. The double bed was actually 2 singles pushed together so it was not seamless in the middle and the bed it self was very hard and not really comfortable. There are little atmospheric touches in the room like an old tin thermos sitting on a tea towel, which serves no purpose but taking up space. The ceiling fan is a nice and practical touch. The bathroom is small and has a walk in shower with good water pressure. The faucet with the sink does not allow for hot water. Unlike the shower, the water at the sink is only room temperature which makes shaving somewhat difficult. There is a good selection of English channels CNN, BBC, Cinemax, HBO, Fox Sports etc. to chose from.
The location is central for downtown Georgetown and the Historic District. I suggest you purchase a "7 Day Rapid Transport Card" for 30RM it makes getting around the island very easy and pleasant. All in all, the Yeng Keng lives up to the pictures on the website. It is howerver ooverpriced for Georgetown. There are similar historically renovated hotels and other choices in Georgetown offering equal accomodation and service for less cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I LOVED the Yeng Keng Hotel! The hotel is in a gorgeous old Chinese colonial mansion, and has beautiful decorations in the lobby, public areas, and guest rooms. All the staff members were super friendly and helpful - especially Michael the waiter/tour guide/bartender/host. The room was a little tight, but we had 3 adults in a family room. Bathroom is pretty small, but adequate. It does get extremely warm in there whenever the door is closed and/or shower is on, as there is no ventilation. I loved the ceiling fans, they made the room so cozy and comfortable! There is a nice loungy area in the front of the hotel that has comfy seats and complimentary ice water and fruit - nice touch!

The location of the hotel is perfect in the center of Georgetown. There are so cute shops on Love Lane (closeby) and within walking distance of the Esplanade, Armenia Street, ect. Plenty of places to eat close by or the front desk can easily summon a taxi.

The pool area is small, but perfect. Several lounge chairs and a table with chairs. Pool towels are provided.

The Yeng Keng Cafe was wonderful! I had breakfast there 3 mornings, one lunch, and one dinner. The food and ambiance is warm and welcoming. Loved the placemat "newspapers".

I definitely recommend Yeng Keng Hotel for anyone travelling to Penang and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back of the hotel or on the 2nd floor. I can imagine the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Address: 362 & 366, Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
#3 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#3 Business Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang.Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel.The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street, at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House', adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street.Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeng Keng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.