We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Save Saved
You added Yeng Keng Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Yeng Keng Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   362 & 366, Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Mojacar, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

An oasis of peace in the hubub of Georgetown. A wonderful 2 days in this pretty hotel. The staff could not have been more welcoming to us. The food was wonderful and varied and the cafe was very popular with locals as well as residents. Our departure was a very early one and they provided us with a lovely picnic to take with us on the train journey back to Singapore. We shall return to this lovely spot .

Room Tip: We had a mansion room and is was perfectly adequatw for our 2 days but a longer stay might be nice i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    138
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
87
264
43
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Yeng Keng for 4 nights in the Yeng Keng Suite. The suite was beautiful and a considerable size. My boyfriend was quite impressed with the electronic bedet toilet in the bathroom. Airconditioning worked perfectly. Hot water must be turned on about 10-15 minutes before you shower to get nice hot water, as long as you remember, the shower was great too. Bathroom was a wee bit cramped but very clean. The only reason that I have not given this hotel 5* is because we found the beds and pillows to be fairly uncomfortable... but beds are subjective so what we may not enjoy, others might, it was just too firm for us (both the pillows and the bed).

The hotel staff was superb, we could not ask for staff that is more polite and helpful. There is one particular girl that works at the font desk, she has short hair but I can't recall her name, she is really, really fantastic - she arranged all our taxis and all the day trips that we wanted to do even though we were arranging them last minute. Hotel provides you with complimentary umbrellas to walk around with, good for this time of year as there was a fair amount of rain. Breakfast was included, although not fantastic it certainly was not anything we could complain about.

The WiFi in the rooms is lightening speed fast and great connectivity! Certainly a nice surprise as we were expecting just average WiFi speed.

Hotel is situated in a good area for walking around. We did quite a bit of walking, during the day and night, and never felt unsafe. There is a large shopping mall within a 5 minute walking distance and a wide variety of restaurants.

If you are staying in Penang, Malaysia this is definitely an excellent choice of hotel. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Yeng Keng Suite is particularly nice and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

was here for a night's stay...the location is great...at the heart of george town.
the hotel is unique in its design...
rooms are however a bit too small for family stay...
the pool was small and it had strong chlorine smell in it...
breakfast was not impressive...just a standard breakfast...
overall, i find it a bit too pricey ...and would not be back again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My family, 2 adults and 2 kids stayed at the hotel from 9 Nov to 12 Nov. This is our 3rd visit to Penang but our 1st to Georgetown and we really love it. Our past visits have been to Batu Ferringi. We wanted a new experience and we found it! We chose this place after reading all the reviews in Tripadvisor and felt it would be a good choice. Love the friendly staff from the reception to the security guard to the cafe staff, everyone was superb. Staying in a small hotel is great cos you don't need to rush for breakfast. There will always be food and seats. I esp. enjoyed the nasi lemak. So GOOD!. Must try also the chicken rice stall just opp. the hotel. Meals at the cafe was good and reasonably priced. The chicken chop was great. French onion soup was ideal for that rainy night. We stayed in the family room and included an extra bed. It was just nice for our family. The place is well-kept, clean and very pleasant. All in all, a prefect hoilday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Its not just about the cosy and modern rooms,
Or the beautifully restored little mansion and friendly staff
Or the excellent location within walking distance to the unesco sites and good food
It's probably a mix of everything, plus that something special to make me miss this place after 3 days of stay.

Only complaint though..is that the Internet could get a little cranky at times. A little complimentary tour for hotel guests to the history of this place will really earn a full score

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Read about the good reviews in TripAdvisor, and decided to try out the hotel.
It was Fabulous! the staff are all so friendly and warm. the hotel is quiet.
I also arranged a birthday surprise for my boyfriend with the help of hotel staff (Yeoh).
Definitely will stay here again and will recommend it to my friends.

Just a tip: if you are looking to stay here, try to get the rooms on the 2nd floor. Or else, you will hear the footsteps of the guys staying above you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed there during a short weekend trip recently.
The hotel itself is right in the middle of Old Georgetown with easy access to public transport. Reception staff is friendly and eager to help with questions or to share practical tips for sightseeing.
While we found the rooms rather small for the price, they were well equipped and comfortable, speaking of which, we really loved the upstairs lounge area's.
Breakfast buffet was plentyful and nicely presented with a good mix of Western and Haianese cuisine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/Georgetown
Address: 362 & 366, Chulia Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#3 Business Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang.Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel.The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street, at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House', adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street.Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeng Keng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.