We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, we liked it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinang Peranakan Museum

Pinang Peranakan Museum
29 Church Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
604-2642929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 Attractions in George Town
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Well, we liked it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've just read the other Trip Advisor reviews, written by people who really didn't like this place at all, and felt cheated and exploited. I have to say, I'm surprised: We thought the price high, but worth it. (The only other big house we visited, the Cheong Fatt Tse mansion, we considered the most depressing sight - large rooms empty of anything of interest, one guide, an woman with a weak voice who was hard to hear, who could only speak English despite the fact most of the visitors were Chinese - the tour there left us morose and unhappy.)

The Pinang Peranakan Museum is full of life! Lovely amusing music plays, there are all sorts of relevant objects to look at, lots of Yellow Silk-clad staff help out as you wander around. No one tried to see us coffee or anything else, for that matter.

We decided the high price was worth it, but that's just our opinion. Other people obviously did not.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    374
    108
    27
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Little Nyonya house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

this museum full of the details thing. From this museum, you can actually see many little things from baba & nyonya local life, such as the manik shoes, the playing cards, traditional wedding things which is slightly different from chinese.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banjarmasin, Indonesia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The oldest Peranakan Museum in Penang Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very ancient museum inside. The Peranakan of Chinese in Malaysia, special in Penang Island You can see their heritage & descendants. This place good for our kids to know more about Geography & their foods. I like this place...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Potentially great; drops short from inefficiency/greediness”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived at the mansion and were quickly ushered through, given stickers and told to explore the place with a brochure at hand. Soon we began to realise that we were just looking at peculiar objects without able to understand a thing. Scheduled tour guides leave earlier or later than advertised and is so badly organised. No one could answer when the next tour was. If you miss the tour, good luck on fully understanding the significance of the history and culture, the information posted around the house is too random and doesnt follow smoothly. Some even point out to exhibits that have clearly already been removed or relocated. Finally, each area requires you to walk through shops (jewellery/food) before actually seeing anything. I think that says alot about where the priority is with the management: $$$$.

When we finally got to join a guide, we found that he was pretty much whispering and had been spoon fed snippets of info to tell people. No deep knowledge at all.

Overall rather disappointing as this place really could have been something much more as an experience. It's currently an expensive tourist trap.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Glory days revealed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A taste of wealth and the power of architecture as a statement. Well worth exploring each of its 3 buildings, take your time and don't miss the temple. A guide was showing others around, that's worth considering too as there were a lot if stories told.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinang Peranakan Museum also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Pinang Peranakan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinang Peranakan Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.