We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of That Little Wine Bar

That Little Wine Bar
54 Jalan Chow Thye, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
+604-226-8182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 459 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A neighbourhood European wine bar and restaurant with a warm and welcoming ambiance
kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were a party of 5 who visited TLWB for dinner on a Tuesday night. We sat in the small interior which was cosy and well-decorated. The chef (Chef Tommes) came out to introduce himself and talk through some of his top dishes, which was a nice personal touch and very informative. We ordered excellent glasses of wine, and shared a superb starter of 3 different types of salmon tartare. 2 of our party had the beef tenderloin and 2 had marinated duck breast for mains, which all came with flavoured potato dishes, and really tasty vegetable sides. We all agreed that our dishes were excellent. One of our party had the pork neck but found the dish a little tough and this was, with hindsight, a riskier choice - which, in fairness,had been hinted at by the waiter.
For deserts we shared a couple of helpings of baked cheese cake, which was light and very flavourful, and one helping of apple filo pillow with ice cream which was superb. The English waiter (sorry ! I have forgotten his name), was helpful, attentive, and friendly.
Overall a 5 star experience. We were able to easily order a taxi to take us back to our hotel.
A really great dinner, with excellent service, and we shall definitely be back the next time we go to Penang.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    44
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I first visited That Little Wine Bar over a year ago, and came back again just last week to find it has got even better in the meantime. It was a busy Thursday night - every table was full, we were fortunate to get the last table for 2. Some of the menu I recognised from my last visit - the mushroom quiche, and the beef carpaccio, but we opted this time to try something new this time. The asparagus cream soup was amazingly good, and the marinated duck breast was out of this world - I adored the potatoes that came with it. When it came to dessert, I am afraid I ordered the same as last time - the warm apple filo pillows - because I remember them as being so good, I just couldn't resist. And they didn't disappoint this time either. The sommelier was very busy with a wine function going on in the wine tasting room, but he still found time to come and help us with wine. There was a really interesting selection, but we opted in the end to drink house wines by the glass, and found them to be significantly better than house wines we have ordered elsewhere in Penang. All-in-all a very good experience again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A change of place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The place is a bit different ........compared with the other places i have been.......the sad thing is i heard that the rack of lamb was good but it was not the special of the day.........the service was good ...alert and friendly.......and good selections of wine

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Good atmosphere, friendly staff, great food. Perfect for a date, or if you a nice quiet place to dine and talk.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A little gem where the Penangites meet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A restaurant and wine bar ideally located in a shophouse with a charming terrace where you can have a glass of wine while relaxing after a hot day. TLWB (that's the way the regulars call it; I have been one of them since the opening) has a large choice of wines that celebrity Chef Tommes and his delicious wine Louise select themselves in Europe and import exclusively. You can also eat there and Chef Tommes has a nice variety of dishes to offer (I love the mushroom quiche, the home-made bread and the chocolate cake). If you don't want to finish your bottle of wine you can leave it in the wine-coller for the next visit. TLWB also has cooking/bread classes and wine tasting courses. Cheers!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Little Wine Bar also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to That Little Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage That Little Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.