We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel & great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Rock Hotel to your Saves list
Red Rock Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202A Jalan Macalister, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good hotel & great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the 30th May 2014.One night stay.Booked the family room.Overall everything was average.Service was very good.There is room from improvement in all aspects.Breakfast was very limited.Could have done better.Ambiance was not bad.Value for one night stay.Location was very apt.Everything was nearby.Food,Pharmacy & etc.Will go back if am staying with a large/family group only for a night.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    18
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Came to penang for a weekend getaway. Arrived early and called the hotel if we could check-in earlier and they say there is a room ready. When we arrived, the manager told us that the room will not be ready until 2pm which is also the check in time. I asked him so why they say yes in the first place and now we have to wait for another hour. We were actually argueing and he called me 'stupid' several times and making loud noises by banging the table and the phone. Overall a good location for food but the worst service. Will not go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hotel location is on the starting point of food vaganza on mcalister road..
There's bus stop nearby hotel, famous tambun biscuits beside hotel so you can buy biscuit easily if u missed out something.

We stayed at standard family room for 4 people inside. Bed are queen size but bigger than standard queen.
Comfy and firm.
The best part we like is the space.. It's spacious and there's big window even though view is roof.
Room & bathroom cleanliness in standard, not super clean, just enough clean.

Bfast also standard with few choices from main dish, porridge, salad, fruits, also coffee machine.

There's also taxi service stand in the lobby with more reasonable price that you can use.

Overall I would recomend this hotel for those who aren't so picky and clean minded. As for me I would definitely stay here again when I come to Penang.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

arrived red rock after long drive down from krabi to penang. the room was nicely decorated and spacious. the pool was closed at 7pm which is the downside. buffet breakfast was nice and very east meets west.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our family of 6 stayed at Red Rock over the xmas break,great hotel,good breakfast,area convenient for transport,staff good except for head receptionist who had a massive chip on her shoulder and really didn't want to be there,after an 8 hour flight with children this is not appreciated,the rest of the staff were happy and very helpful,so maybe management may do some retraining of this lass.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked elsewhere but it was so unacceptable (highly discrepancy from online photos) we had to leave and look for elsewhere. We were lucky with the help of a private tour guide acted as taxi pickup driving us around looking for alternatives. And we found Red Rock, we were lucky.
We stayed in two rooms next to each other. One with king size bed and one with two singles.
Nice rooms with all basics like TV, mini fridge, tea/coffee etc. Water bottles supplied everday.
Tv had limited channels but that was not a problem since normally we would go out most of the time anyway.
Clean sheets and towels that were changed everday about 10ish when people tended to leave their rooms.
Our rooms facing the side of the hotel looking down onto the hotel swimming pool. The pool design was nice but had aged (someone told us the hotel was about 20 year old now). People came to the pool to have a phash now and then, but we did not tried as we were on our feet most of the time.
The window was wide and clear so we had good view of that side of the town day/night. We could see all the tall buildings, traffics, the pulse of the town, all from our window and it spreaded far out to the hills and surrounding areas. It has thick curtains of course if you need to shade your room away.
We were on the 10 floor so even though the hotel was on a main street and sort of in the middle of a busy town, we heard no traffic noise.
Air con was quiet and nice. Double room had a bathtub as well and we did tried it, it was very nice.
One big drawback, all occupants of the two rooms found that beds and pillows were too hard for our liking. We did not enjoyed them as much as we did with the hotel we stayed in KL (the One Stop Residence Hotel).
Breakfast included and we enjoyed it thoroughly each morning. Breakfast food were basics with toast, butter, jam, or cereal and sausages for Westerns and fried rice, Char Kway Teow/ fried noodle, Chinese porridge for Easterns. It could be that the way they cooked, it was above areage for us.
My children tried most of them and they liked them. We tried the chinese most of the time except the porridge, and we liked them too. After the savoury meals there was the fruits to wash it all down. That was actually the best part for me at least, as I was in tropical fruits and fruit in general. I would not forget those sweet juicy papaya, pineapple, watermellon, and rockmellon. All cut up ready to be scooped up and enjoyed in air con room each morning.
They also had juice, tea and coffee. The coffee was good, sometimes I had to have more than 1 cup eventhough it was simply coffee machine coffee.
With full tummy and content we threw on our backpacks and went out to explore every day.
Reception staffs were friendly and competent. They answered all questions and helpful with printing out our boarding passes for free (we had to pay 1 Myr /page at the hotel in KL).
Front door boys were always there to open taxi doors for us, loaded/unloaded our luggages. They did not asked or had any hints for asking but we tipped them 1 myr / piece of luggages. They were always ready and smile.
Hawker foods were everywhere outside the hotel. At first we only tried restaurants with air con as the smell of 'open sewers' prevented us eating outside. But then somehow we got use to it eventually, and tried and we were hooked. Their food were good sometimes even better and were really cheap.
We discovered a great 'wanthan mee' hawker a block away from the hotel. It was in a cafe shop sharing space with multiple other hawkers. It was simply egg noodles with wanthans in soup/broth or soy sauce but somehow so delicious. Its 'sui kaou' (a type of dim sum) were to die for. We had them everyday, even just before our ride to the airport to fly out, and we even took some with us to the airport to enjoy while waiting.
For Red Rock, rooms was good, services were there, location perfect, we wouldnt mind come back.

Room Tip: Lifts were fast so choose high floor rooms for view and avoiding street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang Bah Kut Teh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I used to stay in this hotel in the past and choose to stay in this hotel again this time as we extend our business trip. I was rather disappointed looking on how dated this hotel is after my previous stay 5 years ago. Although room is big, the carpet is not that clean and dust can be seen at the side of the wall. We were given the small cup of mineral water instead of those 500ml mineral bottle that we usually received from other hotel. Wifi is provided but the connection is very weak and we can't use it at all for the most of the time. Limited choices for the breakfast as well. On the bright side, parking attendants will help you to unload/load luggages if you happen to stop in front of the lobby. Location is near by eateries as well which is strategic. Other than that, I think it is just good for a night stay or two.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Hotel

Address: 202A Jalan Macalister, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Red Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rock Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.