We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs big time renovation!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Penang

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 3 Jalan Larut, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Penang
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“needs big time renovation!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

went there in 2008 for our honeymoon. the hotel was boring with no beautiful scenery. the toilets were not comfortable and so did the room. the only thing good about the hotel was about the breakfast.. the food was simply delicious!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    116
    114
    45
    33
See reviews for
68
110
20
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is definitely not a 4-star hotel that was advertised. I could not give more than a 2-star rating. Old run down room, dirty with stained carpet. Look at the sofa chair in my room (see attached photo). Air con not functioning as an air conditioner. Very poor housekeeping and maintenance. Breakfast was unacceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is the worst I've stayed in in George Town. Front desk staff were rude, combative and unhelpful. They also took a substantial security deposit from my card without advising me first. The hotel itself was poorly fitted out, with damp rooms, dank smells and fittings and fixtures not working. I would never stay there again - we could have coped with the down-at-heel feel of it, but the staff attitudes were woeful on the whole. The only good aspect of it was the lovely, friendly porters and taxi drivers outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It says it is a 4-star place but it has seen better days. There was mould in the bathroom grouting, and mould on parts of the wall. The shower curtain has mould along the bottom edges. The air con outlet grill is loose and looks like it is going to fall. The towel hook behind the bathroom door is gone, only the glue mark is left. The car park is dingy and smells and anyone can access the lift to the rooms from the basement car park. The place badly needs refurbishment to be called a four-star hotel. No flat screen TV in this day and age, just a 24-inch CRT TV. Will I stay here again? No.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the staff and room very good. We had an executive room (cheapest at time on agoda) which was very spacious and had a big bathroom. Breakfast wasnt bad the usual buffet breaky u find in malaysia. Would stay her again and recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is most definitely my worst experience staying in a hotel.
I don't mind if I'll have to wait for the room to be ready & ended up with a smoking room but when we told the staff that we wanted a non-smoking room, things took a turn for the worst.
The staff responded by saying that "so, do you want to cancel the room? I've two gentlemen here looking for a room."
I am speechless because all I did is politely requested for a non-smoking room.
The staff also puts up another remark by saying that we've only booked for a standard room & we're being so demanding (the sentence he used actually sounded much worse).
I really held myself up back there & waited for a non-smoking room.
Finally, I realized that there is no such thing as cheap hotel, just staff with lousy attitude.
My piece of advice, staff training highly required.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

stayed in royal hotel penang 3d2n..... fast check in and check out ,there's a KFC restaurant opposite the hotel , hotel link to the Plaza Penang with hypermarket which is very convinience. Hotel provided shuttle to Gurney Plaza and free wifi as well ...definately will return to this hotel when our next visit in Penang.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Penang

Address: No. 3 Jalan Larut, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Penang 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.