We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Penang

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 3 Jalan Larut, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the staff and room very good. We had an executive room (cheapest at time on agoda) which was very spacious and had a big bathroom. Breakfast wasnt bad the usual buffet breaky u find in malaysia. Would stay her again and recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    117
    117
    48
    33
See reviews for
71
110
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is most definitely my worst experience staying in a hotel.
I don't mind if I'll have to wait for the room to be ready & ended up with a smoking room but when we told the staff that we wanted a non-smoking room, things took a turn for the worst.
The staff responded by saying that "so, do you want to cancel the room? I've two gentlemen here looking for a room."
I am speechless because all I did is politely requested for a non-smoking room.
The staff also puts up another remark by saying that we've only booked for a standard room & we're being so demanding (the sentence he used actually sounded much worse).
I really held myself up back there & waited for a non-smoking room.
Finally, I realized that there is no such thing as cheap hotel, just staff with lousy attitude.
My piece of advice, staff training highly required.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

stayed in royal hotel penang 3d2n..... fast check in and check out ,there's a KFC restaurant opposite the hotel , hotel link to the Plaza Penang with hypermarket which is very convinience. Hotel provided shuttle to Gurney Plaza and free wifi as well ...definately will return to this hotel when our next visit in Penang.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were only at the hotel for 2 nights, which way more than enough. The first night we were given a room that was just horrific. I mean, the carpet was dirtier than the ground outside with all manners of suspicious stains, there were more stains than carpet. Filthy, just horrific. In fact, the entire room was equally filthy, the sheets, the tub, everything. I felt like I was stuck in a old 80's hotel room that hadn't been cleaned since then and the ac was barely working to boot!

The next morning we complained and the manager graciously upgraded us to the apartment suite a floor up. Granted, it was way better than the previous nightmare on the ninth floor but it was still a fairly mediocre room. Unless you're a college student operating on a low budget, I wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Stay far far away from room 908.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

One would think that he management would have taken steps to rectify some of the poor comments written. Unfortunately, little has been done or less!
Staff attitude was far below expectations, not an aota of "Welcoming", forget about greeting, non what so ever, one consulation at breakfast room a hard working "hostess" made good to start one's day. We were assigned a room near the lift, don't forget to ask the question as the lifts is occupied, then the "thundering" is heard in your room!!! Not a good experience overall.

George Town as UNESCO Heritage Site well worth visiting but on foot only, just let your senses guide you and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Only if you are desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

very bad experience.The front desk staff is rude and the hotel room is so run down and dirty.Even found cockroach in the room during my stay!No towels in the room and after calling many times they failed to send the towels to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel looks great from the outside however, inside the rooms is a different situation. We arrived last Sunday night and after arriving in our room we found how many things didn't work. The fridge, TV and phone, The fridge was replaced with a working one and another remote was given which made the TV to work, however, after turning it on it took 10 to 15 mins before any sound was heard. The TV was at least 15 years old (not LCD). The odor of the room was not pleasant it looked like the carpet had not been shampooed for many years. This hotel is badly need of renovations. No WiFi in rooms.
We had just come from Vietnam where we stayed in 3 star hotels with LCD TV's etc. The Royal is about 1 star hotel.

Room Tip: Just choose this hotel until it has been renovated, which maybe never.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Penang

Address: No. 3 Jalan Larut, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Penang 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Royal Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.