We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with good restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Penang

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 3 Jalan Larut, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average hotel with good restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were honeymooners or just married couple when we stayed here. We satisfied with the breakfast service but poor at their parking lot. Have a nice view if you take higher room. The room is ok and comfortable. But make sure you use your gps if not you will find you lost in the penang citty to reach the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    116
    115
    45
    34
See reviews for
68
110
20
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've just spent our first night here and besides the central location in Georgetown, everything else is fairly pathetic. The hotel is old and in desperate need of refurbishment. TV is old and signal intermittent. Amenities are sparse. Pool is small. The biggest failure on the part of the management however would be that their staff are really poorly trained. They are generally standoffish and for the most part, arrogant and devoid of any capability to utter the simplest pleasantries to their guests. In retrospect, we regret making the booking as we're sure that we could have gotten a better deal at a better property. If I were the Chief Minister, I would never have endorsed the hotel as it would show a lack of analytical ability and foresight on my part.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Travelled on September 2011 with my family, we got a 2 double bed room. The rooms looked aged with the windows dirty. The bathroom was so-so. The hotel tv provided satellite channels and the beds were comfy.

The breakfast spread was average, enough to tide us through the morning. We ordered room service and the food was also average at best.

The hotel manager was very accommodating, we required to print our air tickets and he brought us to the business centre to print. He did not charge us for it, however the printer and computers were very old (Easily year 2000 technology)

The location was central and very convenient to visit attractions. The hotel drivers were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel was once a prince of a place unfortunately it has grown old and tired. I think there are probably better places to stay with a bit more to offer. This hotel is out of town which is the first down side, you need to catch taxi everywhere which adds to the cost.

I had requested a non smoking room, I got a room on 18th floor which was wonderful, however, it was a smoking floor. You get the picture.

The powerpoints were dodgy so someone had to come and install my international plug as it wouldnt fit into the powerpoint.

The clock didnt work, it is still sitting at 6.35 when I set it the first day I arrived.

There was no ice in the mini bar or for that matter anything else, even the water wasnt in the fridge.

I did use room service for ice and each time I received a different amount of ice.

On the last day there was no internet I phoned reception twice about
this lm still waiting.

The plus side it had a bath which I am very fond of. The breakfast was ok, nothing special however, they did make omlettes with ham in them. yum.

In all honesty I really didnt like Penang very much at all.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Pros:
- Hotel located at the centre of Georgetown.
- Room is huge.

Cons:
- Breakfast so-so only with limited choices.
- Car park, you need to visit the front-desk (to get free car park chop) every time you go out. basement car park don't have lift, you need to climb the staircase with your luggage.
- Room, you can smell smoke even its a non-smoking room.
- Room, shower is broken.
- Room, the pillow are too not comfortable, it is totally worn-out. (I have my neck pain the next day)
- No WiFi, only provide a very short Lan cable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 day's on our visa run, we found it ok very tired looking in the room needs a revamp & soon. Not happy with the wifi none in the room had to go down to reception which didn't always work..?? Which in this day & age is a must, thought the staff at reception desk very good also at breakfast which was nice fresh eggs to order lots of choice. View from our room was lovely mountain & sea view... Found a great burger bar called marshalls near to the hotel very nice burger's & very cheap... Would go back to the hotel could live with the few problems.... Good hotel for the money...

Room Tip: We stayed on the 16th floor great view from our window mountain's & sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My personally rate for this hotel is just 2-3star.I stayed in this hotel for 4D 3N..and 1 word i can say is sucks..i have change room for 3times..that means every single day i request to change room..rooms is old..carpet is old as well..and smelly even though is non-smoking floor..air conditioning sucks..not cold at all..i keep on complain to the hotel manager..i was really pissed off..wasting my time and energy to keep on shift room..finally on the last night of my trip,the manager give me the best room which is a presidential suite on 20th floor..i think this is the best of the whole hotel..so guys..if you wanna stay in this hotel..only the presidential suite is recommend..NOT the superior or deluxe room! The breakfast is weird and very less choice..u can add on RM80-RM150 to get a much better hotel around georgetown area.10q.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Penang

Address: No. 3 Jalan Larut, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Penang 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.