We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Penang to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 3 Jalan Larut, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in George Town
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice but old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

the hotels is no really bad but the hotel smells old. it is really old but the rooms are big and the food is really good. the locations is really bad, i dont like the neighborhood it is dirty and smelly.

definitely I will not stay there again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    117
    125
    51
    34
See reviews for
74
114
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We noticed that our 2 extra blanket got lot hairs on it,than the pillow are smelly..and the extra bed,when room service bring it in,down of the extra bed at least got 5 to 6 baby cockroach!yucks...!!hotel location is good but swear no second time in this hotel..and one more things the kettle was so dirty!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The bed was a bit too firm for my liking, but that is typical in Malaysia and Thailand.
Staff were friendly and efficient, especially the Concierges, who were funny, helpful and really made you feel welcome.
Facilities are excellent too, with several choices of restaurant, pool, health spa, 24 hour tailor and bar on premises.
Its also very close to markets, shops/shopping centres and heaps of restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I go to this hotel after I booked it from a travel agent as Sheraton hotel not royal Penang, I arrived there and everyone know it and they guided me to it.

I arrived at 11 pm and i didn't exchange money yet, everything near is closed and the hotel wanted me to pay in local currency a deposit and I didn't have, so they didn't allow me to use business center ( which is 2 computers on a table ) and didn't allow me to order food from room service.

Overall:
Location: it's located in George Town 15 minutes walking from bus statin and trader hotel, have KFC in front oh the hotel and have a bar in the first floor and it's 10 minutes walking from china town and Indian temples.

Cleanliness: the room I took had a burned carpet and broken sink in bathroom and bathroom is very dirty, and bathtub have scratches inside and the sealing of the bathroom lost serious amount of paint.

Price: I booked it for 62.5 USD and from my opinion it dosnt worth anything.

Service: service providers speak little English do you have to manage with them, and it's pretty bad service after all.

Breakfast: there was a good but not satisfying buffet that serve: fried rice, chicken sausages, noodels, and some Chinese food ( 2 cuisines ) and fruits.

They make me sign a paper that it have all the stuff in room ( as if I stool or crashed anything) and it prices, for this only I can't consider this hotel as a 4 stars hotel at all.

I consider this hotel as a sexual tourism hotel because of the bar / disco in first floor and all night workers are females.

FOR ME I WILL NOT VISIT AGAIN, AND WILL NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My first impression of the hotel was good, well, at least from what it looks like from the outside. Despite what others may say about the hotel, I found that my stay here was not that bad after all. For a frequent traveler like I am, I do not expect world class hotel unless you are willing to pay a fortune for it.

With that said, I have no complains about the most important part of any hotel - the room. The room was clean and properly made up. Unlike other hotels I have stayed in, the bed and the pillows were comfortable, much to my surprise.

The only complain I have about the room was the TV which was not working and the toilet door which cannot be locked. Other than those minor inconvenience, everything was in perfect order.

The main reason I chose this hotel was its location, which was not too far away from where everything is. Where location is concern, I will have to give this hotel two thumbs up. I am not sure about others but as far as I am concern, locality is always the prerequisite for me when choosing a hotel.

Perhaps one bone of contention about this hotel is the basement parking, which I found to be too small for a hotel of this standard. Other than that, I think I will return to this hotel if I am in the vicinity again. Oh...and one more thing. Those at the front desk should buck up. Service is slow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The staffs at the front counter are not really friendly. The hotel is quite old and the toilet is in poor condition. There are cracks and stains on the bathtub. The tv (tv box) in the room is not functioning. The iron is too old and not functioning as well. The food for breakfast and buffet lunch/dinner is not really good. There are other better hotels in Georgetown city u can get with the same amount of money. There are lack of maintenance in this hotel. Hope it can improve in times to come. Location is satisfactory, but it is not my main factor to consider this hotel again as there are other better place with good location to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Room not made up when you enter. Toilet in poor condition. Carpet and bed sheet stinks and dusty. Front desk neither friendly nor rude (which is not acceptable in hotel industry). Airconditioning is poorly functioning. Don't expect much of this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Penang

Address: No. 3 Jalan Larut, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.