We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Penang to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Penang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 3 Jalan Larut, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Royal Penang for four nights from Thursday 25/10/12 until Monday 29/10/12. The hotel is basic and relatively clean.(although this could be improved) Breakfast was not included with our room but we did try the breakfast buffet and found that this was just a basic buffet at a reasonable price.

The reception staff found it difficult to converse in English and had trouble telling us anything about the hotel - - to try and arrange the breakfast buffet was difficult. We also had issue in trying to arrange some visits to attractions in and around the area. We also found that the drivers were giving different versions of best methods of accessing attractions

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    118
    130
    53
    34
See reviews for
76
116
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Royal for 1 night in Deluxe Suite which come with an extra tiny room for a table with fax.

Let's say about the good side of the hotel, internet is free but don't put high hope on the high speed connection even is slow but still enable you to connect to the cyberworld. A huge no of non smoking floor a plus point for person like me which not a smoker and doesn't like the smelly smell. And the room ammenities is good to have like disposal tooth brush, shower gel, conditioner, body lotion, sewing kits, etc.

And now we go to the other side of the hotel (BADDDD)

1. I think is the oldest and the smallest TV that I experienced for all the hotel or resort i ever stayed and the channel is also frequent interrupted.

2. Old and dirty carpet and this had caused the whole room into strange smell.

3. Soggy mattress if you having problem with your back bone, I advise you to look for another hotel and the condition of the bed is dusty.

4. Poor front desk service, no greeting nor even ask you whether you need help to arrange on your luggage.

5. Shower bath curtain with a undried smelly which make me feel extremely comfortable with and for me a bath or shower should reduce or refresh my mind or body but unfortunately with this condition i couldn't stay inside for more than 5 mins.

6. Poor breakfast and limited variety of choice and the quality of food is bad.

I won't come back to stay again if the other option is open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Royal for a couple of nights in a superior room. They kindly put an extra bed in for our little toddler, free of charge which was nice. It's worth a mention they did offer a cot and a highchair was available for use at breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable but perhaps a bit tired/frayed around the edges.

The staff were very friendly, child friendly and it's a great hotel for being in the hub of George Town. The Concierge was a full of useful information and couldn't do enough to help and make recommendations. They sourced the taxi for you and ensured you have absolutely no trouble with pricing etc However, I have to say we found using taxi cars across the board, a cost effective and enjoyable way to get around the island and had no bad experiences. We were told some try to rip you off but I guess that's true of anywhere you go!

At the Royal Penang, everything is at your fingertips, the sights, colonial streets, restaurants, shopping malls and great views from your hotel window.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on 1st Aug till 3rd Aug 2012 in Hotel Royal Penang. We booked twin room but stayed 4 people. The admin allowed us to do so and provided 2 extra pillow inside the wardrobe. The room was clean so do the bathroom, we received good services as we request receptionist to morning on time. Although breakfast wasn't provided, KFC is just opposite the hotel only few minutes walk to reach. Taxi services available outside the hotel however all goes to bargaining prices, If you would to enjoy Penang people living style I sincere urge you to try Rapid Penang bus, the prices is cheap and the bus station is around the corner. I would recommend this hotel for middle low prices traveller as the services is good and affordable prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed there a few nights.The location is west from city centre and Komtar but easy reachable by public transport (a few bus routes) and taxi. Not bad in general. Booked double room with breakfast. Room was in good condition. Not newly renovated but alright and pretty much spacious. The bathroom needs some small refreshment. Free Wifi is in the lobby only. Breakfasts - buffet style with relatively good selection of food. There is a hawker centre in just 5 min walking from the hotel with good selection of local dishes for a good price. The hotel also linked with a shopping centre. There are also sauna, open pool and gym in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in September 2012. The location is quite convenient and there's a shopping mall(Penang Mall) next door. The deluxe room we had and a very nice view of the penang hill and the seaside front the batu ferringhi beach even from the 7th Floor. The pool on the 4th Floor is a bit small but it's manageable. Breakfast at the lobby restaurant is good but nothing to shout about since it's included in the package. For those how love disco/bars there's one right next to the front office reception, not sure which day's its open but sure does on saturdays and sundays

Room Tip: Choose at least 7th floor or higher and must face the penang hill and seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have stayed several times at this Royal and for us this hotel is comfortable and strategic location. Superior room is bit smaller than Deluxe. We were in an executive suite also and enjoyed the extra room it provided. Room service is average. The sauna,pool and gym are good though. The one very thing that i'll miss about this hotel was their buffet breakfast. There were so many tasteful varieties. I believe they have a very well experienced chef. Royal is well located in the heart of Georgetown, its also near to KFC, Old town, Starbucks. So,one don't have to worry if you are hungry at night and not having any transport.Giant Supermarket and pharmacy is in next building - very convenient.
Will us be back to this hotel, SURELY YES!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Penang

Address: No. 3 Jalan Larut, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.