We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, right from your doorsteps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PPisland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
PPisland Hotel
Save
You added PPisland Hotel to your Saves list
33A , Abu Siti Lane, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food, right from your doorsteps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

A group of 4 greedy friends on a mission, " Food Trailing Penang". Besides the minor inconveniences of not having any shower curtains (wet floors), having to request for a hair dryer & of the air conditioner blowing directly at you, all else was great & more. Sheets were clean, mattress firm & with our Food Trails beginning right at our doorsteps as photos indicate.
Just 2 doors away is Mama's Nyonya Cusine, a few doors away: Jan's Homemade cakes for Pandan Kaya Delight of fresh pandan, coconut cream & pandan sponge, at the end of the street Anba's Coconut Trading: fresh Pandan Coconut Juice, Coconut Jelly then behind our alley of the famous Lorong Selamat, charcoal fried, Char Kueh Teoh.
For a little R&R, cross the road from Anba Coconut's to Yang Shen Tang Therapeutic Reflexology, $45 for an hour of pure bliss.
PP Island Hotel, until we meet again for 'Food Trailing Penang Part 2".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
35
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My last stay was a couple of years back, and it's good to see everything has remained more or less the same. It's quite clean, and the bed is comfortable, and the standard inclusions, while basic, they cover for everything that's reasonably needed. The location is within walking distance to the food places on Jalan Mcalister, Komtar, and the nearby shopping malls. The shower works well too, although whoever thought that it's a good idea to have the toilet exactly where the shower is should be shot. There is also the issue with wifi connection, as it seems the coverage is not very good, and if you're in the room that's all the way down into the corner, you might not get a signal strong enough to connect.

Apart from these issues, Overall, I'm quite happy with the stay, and will definitely consider again should I venture in Penang again and looking for a budget option. For the prices charged, it works quite well as a budget base.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows, but are charged at the same rate - so ask for one with windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here several times now and so far no complaints on this place.

It is located in the heart of Penang, giving you easy access to anywhere you want to go to. The price is very reasonable and cheap too. The room is very clean and simple, with all the basic amenities and facilities provided. They have hot shower, TV, a/c and a nice good bed. The reception staff keeps changing but their service is good. Fast and efficient (would be perfect if they would smile a little though) check-in and check-out.

We never tried their breakfast as there are many restaurants located nearby for dim sums or noodles in the morning and BBQ chicken wing and oyster eggs in the evening. The location is just perfect.

One minus point though, is the limited parking space. Its on a first come first serve basis and once its full you will have to find your own, and warn you, it is quite difficult as the parking space in the area is also very limited and you might have to park it very far down the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Not a bad hotel at all for the value. We chose a budget hotel for our stay in Penang and it served its purposes. Our room was quite small so we upgraded to the next class so the 3 of us could be more comfortable. The room had pretty strong AC as well. Located in a good area convenient to most touristy places, this hotel served as a great base during our stay. On our more ambitious days, we walked to the downtown areas. There were multiple food stalls nearby that are walking distance as well (soooo delicioius). The staff did their best to help us when we needed directions, a cab, etc. For a budget hotel, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are quite cramped so keep this in mind when you're booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

It's less than 10 minutes walk to Georgetown. Great dim sum places just across and beside the hotel.
Room is big and clean. However, bring ur own toothbrush and hair & body shampoo. The neighborhood is quiet and safe.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Clean and spacious room! It comes with a free first come first serve parking, good for those who drove to penang. Very good value for the amount we paid! :) love the location as well, so convenient and near to many good hawker stalls and restaurants! Will recommend my friends this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked the double rooms for rm85 / night. Location not bad, consider that there're many hawker stalls nearby. Parking is first comes first serve. Small lobby, no restaurant, only a vending machine

Rooms 706: nice view, small size, dirty bedsheets with two hole! , bathroom doorknob rusty to the state of unacceptable!, mouldy ceilings, shower head went wrong but was fixed immediately. No hair dryer in rooms(have to call). No tea making facilities. Paper thin walls.Wifi is snail speed.

It was very cheap stay but the quality is way too bad..will not come back again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PPisland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PPisland Hotel

Address: 33A , Abu Siti Lane, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel newly opened in 2009, PPisland offers business and leisure travelers a homely ambiance. Located in the heart of Georgetown, it is less than 5 minutes drive from the city centre, easily accessible to commercial and banking areas, shopping outlets, popular tourist and heritage sites. Relax yourself in one of our 62 clean and comfortable rooms completed with facilities like LCD TV, ensuite shower, individually controlled air-conditioning and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
PPisland Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PPisland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.