We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PPisland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
PPisland Hotel
Save Saved
You added PPisland Hotel to your Saves list
33A , Abu Siti Lane, Georgetown, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great hotel with great location! It's located at the heart of the city and famous food stalls are just few steps away!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
35
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is located in an alleyway between Jalan Burma & Jalan Macalister, IMHO offering the best eateries in Georgetown in retrospect to the overrated Gurney Drive locales.

Rooms are clean with your no frills basic facilities. Value for $$ for the couple or small families planning to stay in Georgetown!

Room Tip: Do ask for non smoking floors. These are normally the top floors. It also means you will be isolated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

It's a business trip. Sure you may be asking, if it's a business trip, what the hell are you doing in this hotel??? This is my 3rd repeated stay. sadly it'll be the last one because:
1) the free wifi in the room doesn't work! And I got to go camp at the lobby. This being the case, I could then go for a nicer hotel for business travellers.
2) the pillow case has stain......
3) parking is horrible!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in April 2012

On the first night, we were given room 402 on the smoking floor. The odour was so bad that we asked to switch to a non-smoking room but it was fully booked. The room wasn't properly clean as we could see stains in the bathroom. The bathroom was also dirty with a stale smell and you can see bugs around the ceiling. The bed was so hard and we hardly could sleep the whole night.

We asked to switch to non-smoking floor on the 2nd night and was checked-in to room 303. This room was much better, and cleaner (I dont know why). So the 2nd and 3rd night stays got better.

With the price we paid at RM85nett for a Queen Size bed, we couldn't ask for more I guess. The hotel location is very good, located nearby hawkers foodstalls with many varieties. There's also a restaurant selling dimsum as early as 5.30am and the food was delicious. So breakfast is not a problem.

Room Tip: Go for non-smoking room! However, understand from the staff that there's only one non-smoking fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I visit this hotel on February, when enter hotel lobby it gave me a luxury feeling. The lobby design and decoration was very good. Staff at Reception was very helpful and friendly. I got my room at 9th floor,the view from my room were nice and consider partially seaview.hahahaha... Although that day was full house, the hotel were quite enough and I able to get my carpark space outside the hotel and without charge until 9 in the morning. within the walking distance, I have visit the Sim Kim shan and the other 2 kopitiam in a row for my dinner, there have very good food and reasonable price. I will definitely coming back again for my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed in the PPisland in mid-march. Room is small but clean. Location is centralised and walking distance to the New Lane Hawker Street food. Dim sum place at the side has good breakfast. Towels are provided, but toothbrushes and toothpaste you have to bring your own. Overall recommended for the price and location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is my second time staying at PPisland hotel! Stayed here for one night paying RM85 per night. The room was spacious and clean! Fantastis location as it was near all the famous hawker stall, Lorong Selamat, Macalister Road, Burma Road. =)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PPisland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PPisland Hotel

Address: 33A , Abu Siti Lane, Georgetown, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel newly opened in 2009, PPisland offers business and leisure travelers a homely ambiance. Located in the heart of Georgetown, it is less than 5 minutes drive from the city centre, easily accessible to commercial and banking areas, shopping outlets, popular tourist and heritage sites. Relax yourself in one of our 62 clean and comfortable rooms completed with facilities like LCD TV, ensuite shower, individually controlled air-conditioning and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
PPisland Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PPisland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.