We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broadway Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Budget Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadway Budget Hotel
35f Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Broadway Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed here for 2nights on 12&13 april 2012 with my friend. Booked for double room for rm60 per nite and 70 for friday nite. Choose twin beds, with a/c and fan bathroom attached. The room is quite small but it is ok and clean. Located in near the Kapitan Mosque and also near to the Nasi Kandar Beratur. It is a bit noisy at nite with the hotel located near the road but I was so tired I didnt really care and have a sound sleep :)

I was in Georgetown for 4 days so the other night I choose different hotel near the Penang Street just near the Esplanade called Friendship Motel. Overall Broadway Budget Hotel is still ok except for maybe the sound from the road and the room size and the people in the front counter is very nice.

Room Tip: Doesnt have lift and the stairs is very narrow. Try to get room in first floor and the closest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
25
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

booked at march 9th till 10th, was looking fwd to it till the drilling of the main road right infront of the hotel...the over-rated very friendly n helpfull front desk guys obviously is also very good in their words !!! when asked how come we were not inform when we book the room, their excuse was there are not aware the drilling take all night till morning, they assusre that 10th march will not have night drilling but we were obviously conned ...the drilling went on....a decent hotel must have the courtesy to inform guest but not just sell room for d sake of PROFIT ...what is the point of being friendly n courteous when u cannot even sleep in peace at night during yr holiday ?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Located on the upper fringe of little India, this hotel is as basic as one can get. There is no Tel, TV or fridge, but the WIFI is better than expected. If you do not mind the walk up.

The place is cleaned and linen refresh is every 2 days. It is handy to the401E airport and CAT free bus. Many restos around if you like Indian or Chinese food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed here in January 2011 and was really happy with this accommodation.Very friendly staff on front desk and very helpful.Loved being in "Little India" for the food and ambiance. Just out the front door there is an Indian vendor for "Chai and snacks" and cheap.
Highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

Bed bugs. ... bed bugs!

Towel was the funniest excuse for a towel I have ever seen. I don't know why they even give it to you. Imagine cardboard paper with holes in it.

My clock was still on Thai time so I accidentally checked out 30 minutes late and they charged me 20 ringgit on a 40 ringgit stay. Not very nice of them.

Cheap and decent location is about the only bright spots.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here when we first arrived to Penang as after looking at the dingy hostels, and this was the most reasonable local hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms were ok , and clean and there was warm water and free Wifi, we stayed here on 2 occasions and both times had a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

The hotel has a great location and from the outside it looks OK. WiFi is free though you need your own computer. The staff are friendly. The room was quite large but had a dreadful smell. The bed sheet, pillow case and top cover all had holes. The bathroom was dirty and the bath towel the size of a handkerchief.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broadway Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Budget Hotel

Also Known As:
Broadway Budget Hotel Penang/Georgetown
Address: 35f Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Broadway Budget Hotel to your Saves list