We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel in the Middle of Everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel in the Middle of Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I got to stay here 2 nights for RM88 when I booked online 6 months ago. Considering the price I paid, the small room is reasonable with added air-condition and toiletries set in the package. The bed is comfortable and the shower is powerful. In fact, it is a 5-star experience with a one-star price

However, I am not satisfied with the parking management. The display shows that they charge RM6 per entry and I thought that was quite cheap. But... There is a big but here. The entry is only until 3.00 pm the next they and until then you have to pay another RM6.00 for another day.

When I got out at 5.00 pm the next day, I still had to pay RM6.00 when I wanted to get out of the parking. Furthermore, when I entered again at 10.00 pm, I had to pay another RM6.00 which means I was overcharged twice!

I am very dissatisfied with the parking management and hope that it will state that they charge RM6.00 per DAY and not per entry! I felt cheated.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    463
    227
    73
    56
See reviews for
187
289
166
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed there for 2 nights. Took a room with window and one without. Basic room. Comfortable sleep. Very limited car park spaces. Staff very attentive. I was travelling with a baby and reception staff offered us an earlier check-in.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors and without windows (if you are not claustrophobic) for quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Location is Supreme and the Price is Reasonable otherwise there is nothing much to complain. The price you pay is what you get. Don't expect free WIFI, Towel, Soap, Comb or even air-conditioning. Everything you want, you have to pay for it. There's no TV or Mini Bar so don't be surprised if they are absent from your room.

Room Tip: A corner room is more suitable if one is a light sleeper as the opening and closing of the room at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed there for 2 night (room without windows) but really nice and comfortable.. it's okay if you just take the basic room because the room still cold with the fan..

really recommend for this hotel if you want sleeping without any worries, clean room and nice staff.. :)

Room Tip: room without windows just nice because it's more quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best mattress and pillows to keep your tiredness away
Strategic location to eat the best food in town, all are walking distance
But there is no parking space, only a private parking space which charges RM6 per entry

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one nice convenient budget hotel to stay in, about 10 minutes walk from Komtar.
For a lazy night chill-out, there's a few cafes (including Starbucks) around it, and a new world park (mall?) next to it.
You pay according to what you require, the no. of hours aircon required, wifi or not etc. Quite convenient for us since it was also near to some vegetarian food places which we wanted to go.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferRajoo, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi vyv2,

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our concept worked well for you. Our concept is ideal for smart travelers like you who knows what they want and only pay for add-ons that is required.

We look forward to welcome you back to Tune Hotels soon.

Best regards,
Jennifer Rajoo, Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidoarjo, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second time We stay here, they improved much better than before. They prove that they always hear opinion from the guests and try to change for the good than before. Front desk and security officers are very good but I pointed about cleaning service officers, train them for smile more with visitors and clean the rooms cleaner than now.. overall Tune Hotels Penang is one of the best budget hotels in Penang.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferRajoo, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi JimmyZeng,

It is only through concerned guests like you that we are able to improve our services. Your review has been shared with our hotel team and I'm sure it will serve as an encouragement them further to deliver great customer experiences.

Thanks for the great review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Jennifer Rajoo, Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in George Town
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.