We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct - 20% off!
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The double bed room really available for a couple. The double bed room is a bit of tight. However, the double bed room with window is better than the room without window. The bathroom is a tight. Although the door of bathroom has the sticker, might let someone outside the bathroom see you in the bathroom.

The room looks so clean and comfortable. The bed is comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want to save money, you should not purchase air condition with charge either 12 hours nor 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Appreciate your feedback about our room and we would surely give it a consideration about the bathroom door and matters of privacy.

Our room are compact and functional. This helps in regulating cost, and translating them to savings for guests.

Thank you for taking time to write us a review and I hope you will look out for us when you plan your future stays.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    417
    189
    64
    49
See reviews for
163
257
148
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The rooms we stayed during 2 days in september was very spacious and good. No words to say. A/c was good but they are upgrading wifi. Distance from airport. 7/11 is just entrance of hotel and will everything u need. Indian hotels are not too far but travel by taxi. Choose WOODLANDS for vegetarian and lunch choose ananda bhavan which is just opposite. Museum is holiday on friday. Overall the best experience in penang.

Room Tip: 421-427 for spacious rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights when attending my brother's wedding. I was really disappointed with this hotel. Apart from comfy bed and clean room, it was nothing much to offer. The room was really small and a bit run down (not what you see on the website). Small walkway and disturbing noise at night (due to the cramped space). Staffs were poorly trained. Apart from being not helpful, they were unfriendly. Our queries about non-functioning air-conditioned and request for getting room at the same floor for my relatives were responded in an inappropriate manner. There were food courts and restaurants nearby the hotel, so, food was not a problem. There was 7-elevan at the ground floor and also Giant supermarket within 7 minutes walk. However, the distance to famous interesting place (UNESCO heritage) was far by foot. This hotel might not be suitable for leisure travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

I regret to find our hospitality fell short of the standards you have come to expect from us.

We put a lot of emphasis in training and re-training to ensure service meets the expected quality. Periodic assessments are carried out to measure results.

Reviews like yours further benchmarks our service delivery and propels improvement where necessary.

Thank you for pointing out these areas to us.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I said here 4 nights. Very convenient to explore Georgetown. Room, though small was clean with comfortable bed. No WiFi available as being upgraded, that was annoying, but next door is Old Town coffee with wiFi. Next to New World Park which has great food centre and other restaurants. The ice cendol here is rhe best, the old lady explains the components. Nearby to bus stop that has regular buses to Batu Ferringi and sites along that route. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Was in Penang for the weekend, the room had a window but the view was blocked by the nearby mall. Anyhow my room was clean, the bathroom tiles were slightly worn out, but the showers were good. There wasn't much space around the room as the bed occupied most of the area but it was really comfy. If you're a light sleeper make sure you have your earplugs with you because the walls aren't quite sound proof.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

we used to stay at the middle room without any window...the room condition was too poor, musty odor once we enter the room, floor full with dust & some hair, bath room not clean and floor got many stain...good service from the staff,lobby area was good condition, car park space limited, down stair got 7-eleven shop...will not staying here any more...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise. Reviews like yours allow us to pinpoint areas in need of improvement.

Thank you for letting us know how we have missed your mark on hospitality and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

As a frequent travellers to Penang, we obviously spend a lot of time visiting tourist spots that Penang is renowned... truly enjoy exploring and experiencing historical relics of diverse cultures; or enjoying the beautiful beaches at Batu Ferringhi seaside. Penang is a friendly modern city where all tourists would feel at home. Getting around is a breeze, anytime, anywhere... with public transport or walking around. The central location Tune Hotel in Penang makes all this possible.

Tune Hotels changed our expectations of budget hotels. Unlike many others, the Tune Hotel in Penang is best value for budget stay. Modern and fully airconditioned the room amenities, bathroom quality and cleanliness is excellent. Wifi is available. Plus the hotel staff are attentive to meet our needs. The car in the hotel private carpark behind the building. Conveniently, without leaving the hotel we can patronise the in-house coffee house and the health spa. Plus a 7-11 convenient store is just located on the ground floor and a modern food court next door.
It's truly our best value stay...at Penang and Tune Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get 5-star beds at 1-star prices with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. The Downtown Penang hotel features 258 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms, centrally located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang. Food and attractions of Penang within easy reach. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via pay-as-you-use add-ons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.