We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The double bed room really available for a couple. The double bed room is a bit of tight. However, the double bed room with window is better than the room without window. The bathroom is a tight. Although the door of bathroom has the sticker, might let someone outside the bathroom see you in the bathroom.

The room looks so clean and comfortable. The bed is comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want to save money, you should not purchase air condition with charge either 12 hours nor 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Appreciate your feedback about our room and we would surely give it a consideration about the bathroom door and matters of privacy.

Our room are compact and functional. This helps in regulating cost, and translating them to savings for guests.

Thank you for taking time to write us a review and I hope you will look out for us when you plan your future stays.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    492
    252
    77
    59
See reviews for
203
305
179
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The rooms we stayed during 2 days in september was very spacious and good. No words to say. A/c was good but they are upgrading wifi. Distance from airport. 7/11 is just entrance of hotel and will everything u need. Indian hotels are not too far but travel by taxi. Choose WOODLANDS for vegetarian and lunch choose ananda bhavan which is just opposite. Museum is holiday on friday. Overall the best experience in penang.

Room Tip: 421-427 for spacious rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights when attending my brother's wedding. I was really disappointed with this hotel. Apart from comfy bed and clean room, it was nothing much to offer. The room was really small and a bit run down (not what you see on the website). Small walkway and disturbing noise at night (due to the cramped space). Staffs were poorly trained. Apart from being not helpful, they were unfriendly. Our queries about non-functioning air-conditioned and request for getting room at the same floor for my relatives were responded in an inappropriate manner. There were food courts and restaurants nearby the hotel, so, food was not a problem. There was 7-elevan at the ground floor and also Giant supermarket within 7 minutes walk. However, the distance to famous interesting place (UNESCO heritage) was far by foot. This hotel might not be suitable for leisure travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

I regret to find our hospitality fell short of the standards you have come to expect from us.

We put a lot of emphasis in training and re-training to ensure service meets the expected quality. Periodic assessments are carried out to measure results.

Reviews like yours further benchmarks our service delivery and propels improvement where necessary.

Thank you for pointing out these areas to us.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I said here 4 nights. Very convenient to explore Georgetown. Room, though small was clean with comfortable bed. No WiFi available as being upgraded, that was annoying, but next door is Old Town coffee with wiFi. Next to New World Park which has great food centre and other restaurants. The ice cendol here is rhe best, the old lady explains the components. Nearby to bus stop that has regular buses to Batu Ferringi and sites along that route. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Was in Penang for the weekend, the room had a window but the view was blocked by the nearby mall. Anyhow my room was clean, the bathroom tiles were slightly worn out, but the showers were good. There wasn't much space around the room as the bed occupied most of the area but it was really comfy. If you're a light sleeper make sure you have your earplugs with you because the walls aren't quite sound proof.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

we used to stay at the middle room without any window...the room condition was too poor, musty odor once we enter the room, floor full with dust & some hair, bath room not clean and floor got many stain...good service from the staff,lobby area was good condition, car park space limited, down stair got 7-eleven shop...will not staying here any more...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

As a frequent travellers to Penang, we obviously spend a lot of time visiting tourist spots that Penang is renowned... truly enjoy exploring and experiencing historical relics of diverse cultures; or enjoying the beautiful beaches at Batu Ferringhi seaside. Penang is a friendly modern city where all tourists would feel at home. Getting around is a breeze, anytime, anywhere... with public transport or walking around. The central location Tune Hotel in Penang makes all this possible.

Tune Hotels changed our expectations of budget hotels. Unlike many others, the Tune Hotel in Penang is best value for budget stay. Modern and fully airconditioned the room amenities, bathroom quality and cleanliness is excellent. Wifi is available. Plus the hotel staff are attentive to meet our needs. The car in the hotel private carpark behind the building. Conveniently, without leaving the hotel we can patronise the in-house coffee house and the health spa. Plus a 7-11 convenient store is just located on the ground floor and a modern food court next door.
It's truly our best value stay...at Penang and Tune Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#24 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#27 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#40 of 71 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#20 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
1.0 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#30 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.