We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, comfy bed, great shower, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, comfy bed, great shower, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Checked in yesterday and went off to my room. Unfortunately there were a number of ants on the bed so I returned to reception. Staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating, they very quickly changed me to new room directly across the hall, sent a security guard with me to help me move my stuff and also gave me a Wi-Fi credit to make up for the inconvenience.

Yes the rooms are looking a little bit tired, but I really don't care too much about the decor, especially at such wonderful prices! The beds are super comfortable, the showers nice and hot or nice and cold (depending on how you like it) and the location is close to everything you need. Local bus stops across the road, Giant supermarket only a few mins walk away at Penang Plaza and there's a well-stocked 7-eleven on the doorstep.

It is easy to get taxis from here also. Breakfast in the lobby is pretty good too.

New world park hawker stalls, Starbucks, pharmacy and old town white coffee are literally next door, there is plenty of food options across the road, a laundry service also just across the road, and KOMTAR is like 10 minutes walk away.

Great location, awesome staff, great price - what more do you need?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We are proud to see our efforts go unnoticed.

My team is particularly motivated with great comments like yours.

Happy to create the "wow" during your stay, and hopefully you return for more.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    483
    244
    76
    59
See reviews for
201
297
174
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good location, clean room, near komtar about 700 km near komtar & 5-10 minute walk from komtar. Staf is good and welcome. Budget hotel but clean. Near bus station and george town. Easy to find penang kuliner food especialy chinesse food dan kandar food. Free wifi service in lobby. Generally all is good.

Room Tip: All it good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

simple is everything, i enjoy simplicity, and it is worth for every cent i spend, really located in downtown Penang, make me very easy to go around penang. room also clean, and it become awesome stays for me, really love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I got a budget room that is clean and in a good location. Diagonally opposite is a great nasi kandar place. Next to hotel is a great Chinese cooked food place. It is also near gurney drive food centre. What else can a foodie want?

Also close to the main heritage attractions. Worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for the review.

Happy to hear our location makes it easy for you to explore the gastronomical delights of Penang.

We are happy when guests' are.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First time staying with Tune Hotel. We just needed a place to spend the night while we're out during the day. Hence a very basic and budget accommodation sufficed and this hotel was good value as it's cheap, clean and comfortable. Extra amenities and services are available at a la carte/packaged prices e.g. air-conditioning, towel, toiletries, etc. Location is within walking distance of good eating places and malls. We have our own car but parking within the hotel compound is limited and rather expensive so we just parked at the road side. My only complain is that we could hear almost everything that goes on outside our room e.g. footsteps, people talking, doors slamming. I believe noise level can be minimized if the corridors were carpeted. Overall it was a pleasant stay if you're looking for a budget place to spend the night.

Room Tip: First corner room on higher floors have a sea view e.g. room #901.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

We pride ourselves for offering competitive rates and the flexibility to tailor your stay according to budget. Our rooms are clean and functional; and strategically located close to major shopping, sightseeing and business destinations.

We are glad in making your stay a pleasant experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

despite the rooms is small and no tv, we cant ask for more with that price. it's cheap and just enough for what we need during our trips in penang. Their location is superb as it's only walking distance to Komtar, the main bus station. Therefore, we never encounter any problem with public transport^^ and there're lots of hawker stall nearby. Its a strategic place to stay in! and the stuffs are always have a smiling face when greeting us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for the review.

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our, services and facilities and I know my team will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

It's always rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed our 5 star beds at 1 star prices.
Thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Chon Buri, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This comfortable hotel. And delicious restaurants nearby.Have a 7 eleven downstairs.An accommodation. Is convenient when you want to stay. Connecting with others Attractions Near shopping. But rooms a little small but overall feel is satisfactory. Hospitable staff. Internet access is available for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#23 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#27 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#39 of 71 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
1.0 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#30 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.