We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, good location, decent rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in George Town
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great value for money, good location, decent rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I got a budget room that is clean and in a good location. Diagonally opposite is a great nasi kandar place. Next to hotel is a great Chinese cooked food place. It is also near gurney drive food centre. What else can a foodie want?

Also close to the main heritage attractions. Worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for the review.

Happy to hear our location makes it easy for you to explore the gastronomical delights of Penang.

We are happy when guests' are.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    471
    233
    73
    58
See reviews for
190
293
170
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First time staying with Tune Hotel. We just needed a place to spend the night while we're out during the day. Hence a very basic and budget accommodation sufficed and this hotel was good value as it's cheap, clean and comfortable. Extra amenities and services are available at a la carte/packaged prices e.g. air-conditioning, towel, toiletries, etc. Location is within walking distance of good eating places and malls. We have our own car but parking within the hotel compound is limited and rather expensive so we just parked at the road side. My only complain is that we could hear almost everything that goes on outside our room e.g. footsteps, people talking, doors slamming. I believe noise level can be minimized if the corridors were carpeted. Overall it was a pleasant stay if you're looking for a budget place to spend the night.

Room Tip: First corner room on higher floors have a sea view e.g. room #901.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune a charm for the ones looking for good value for money.

We pride ourselves for offering competitive rates and the flexibility to tailor your stay according to budget. Our rooms are clean and functional; and strategically located close to major shopping, sightseeing and business destinations.

We are glad in making your stay a pleasant experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

despite the rooms is small and no tv, we cant ask for more with that price. it's cheap and just enough for what we need during our trips in penang. Their location is superb as it's only walking distance to Komtar, the main bus station. Therefore, we never encounter any problem with public transport^^ and there're lots of hawker stall nearby. Its a strategic place to stay in! and the stuffs are always have a smiling face when greeting us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for the review.

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our, services and facilities and I know my team will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

It's always rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed our 5 star beds at 1 star prices.
Thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Chon Buri, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This comfortable hotel. And delicious restaurants nearby.Have a 7 eleven downstairs.An accommodation. Is convenient when you want to stay. Connecting with others Attractions Near shopping. But rooms a little small but overall feel is satisfactory. Hospitable staff. Internet access is available for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is quite a distance from the party area and even from the shopping malls. The room is relatively small but the price paid commands for it. It's just like those typical Tune hotel budget rooms so no much surprise actually.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for the review.

Our rooms are space efficient and functional. It helps in regulating affordable pricing, thus, translating them to saving for guests.

Our Tune Hotel Downtown Penang is located on Burmah Road is quite central and close by some of these interesting spots:
.
10 - 15 minutes walk to KOMTAR
8 minutes walk to Penang Road
5 minutes walk to New World (food & shops)
10 minutes walk to Red Garden hawker center (food)
5 minutes walk to Jalan Nagor (food area)
15 minutes walk to Little India
15 minutes walk to Fort Cornwallis

Thank you for taking time with this to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future

Have a pleasant day

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went back to stay in Tune Hotel Penang again after my last visit in 2012. Not much things have changed and basically everything remained the same except the rooms and the limited furnishings appeared very used and high time to be refreshed or replaced.
I noticed the walls are now very bare, without even a picture or informative board sign and the number of clothes hangers have only two left instead of the usual four!

The bath towels (looked very used and leathery- no longer soft and furry) in my opinion needs to be replaced with quality newer ones, after all it cost me RM4.00 per rental per piece when I estimate the cost of a new towel of similiar quality would cost no more than RM20.00 a piece in nearby KOMTAR! I can always opt to use my own towel but I do not like to carry a half wet towel in my luggage when I check out. Afterall, I believe these towel rentals contribute to part of the hotel profit and income directly or indirectly.

The rooms are still very bare and without television. As such, if you are travelling alone, please bear in mind, to completely drain yourself out totally to sleep as it is quite boring without any entertainment while inside the small room.

The design for this hotel is very and too basic. In my honest opinion compared to some other Tune hotels I have stayed in so far, it is truly very boring. I guess I really missed having a noisy and informative TV to keep me occupied while I am inside the hotel room during solo travel.

But to be honest, I acknowledge the firmness and quality of the matttress in this Tune Penang to be much better than the rest of most Tune I have stayed in. I am quite sensitive to this because I have a very tired physique which appreciates a firm mattress to rest on.

The overall cleaniness and appearance of this hotel looks a bit off and run down compared to the newer Tune hotels I have enjoyed so far.

In my opinion, I would not pay more than RM50.00 per room per night (with all add on inclusive) if this conditions and facade of Tune Penang remain status quo. I do sincerely hope the Management could do an honest review of this Tune hotel Penang from time to time to review its own self and please Do refresh and improve all the room and its furnishings wherever possible, but I wonder would they do so in view of the current strong support they are enjoying since their opening since Penang is always a popular and nice attractive destination for short breaks or holidays.

I do hope that Tune Hotels being a budget hotel concept chain Do Not continue to make itself look and appeared "CHEAP" without having constant modern improvements in place until all the "good" business" is vaporised and the Tune Branding is "worthless" before they decide to act!

Please act before it is too Late!"

Room Tip: Please ask them to clean the room air conditioners filtering net when you check in. My looks not bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANGKAWI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was staying in this hotel for a short trip in penang last year on november. Check-in was fast and efficient, the room was small no space to walk around, only ur bed and toilet. Bathroom was even smaller... No tv and u have to be on your bed all the time.. Was boring being in the room and finally decided to check-out earlier... Sound proofing was really bad i can easily hear people talking and walking in the next room... But this is what u get for the amount u paid... So think wise before booking this hotel... It might be suitable for backpackers and business travellers not for couple and family travellers...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent stay at Tune Hotels Downtown Kuala Lumpur.

Our hotel essentially operates on a limited service concept, parallel to a “pay as you use concept” Since we are a Limited Service Hotel, we provide the basics for a good night sleep.

We do not provide items such as wardrobe, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities, extra pillows, extra beds, room service, etc. Air-conditioning, Television, and Wi-Fi are chargeable add-ons and towels are on rental basis only.

Rooms are space efficient and functional. This helps in regulating affordable pricing, thus, translating them to saving for guests.

Wet are sorry to hear that the noise in the area disrupted your stay. We do try our best to seclude any guests with noise concerns on the quieter side of our building if rooms available.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.