We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Cleanliness needs to be improved,dusty furniture in the room. Luckily the bed and bathroom are quite clean. Location is good. walk to the left then cross the road to try hokkien noodles & pastry shop at night. Highly recommended! Best in town!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices. We have always endeavoured to provide the best within our limited service concept.

Cleanliness has always been a substantial part of our service culture and we regret that it did not meet the standards you have come to expect from us.

I've notified the relevant team to improve on this area.

We do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel and making your stay a pleasant and warmly memorable experience. See you soon

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    432
    201
    66
    50
See reviews for
169
265
155
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

To be honest, I was a tad disappointed when I first stepped into the hotel. The lobby was really warm but the receptionist turned on the aircon when I got to the check-in counter. Then I realised it's their way of cutting cost. The corridors are equally warm. The amenities and facilities were basic; you pretty much pay what you need. So if you are a no-fuss person, this is a good stay. My room was small but clean. The wifi is pretty fast. There's a 7-Eleven here if you need to pick something up quickly. A Giant hypermart is about a ten-minute walk away. Pacific supermarket is about 5 minutes away too.

From Tune, I could get to most eateries within a 3-15 minute walk. New World Park which is just a three minute walk away is a good choice for food. Walk right to the end and you'll find a food court there. The famous Red Garden Food Court and Night Market is about a 15 minute walk away. The Pangrin and 1st Avenue malls are also within walking distance.

Just be cautious as you cross the roads. The motorists here can be rather reckless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Strategically located near Komtar, easy to do online booking. Food court, shopping malls and nice eateries are within 30-minute walking distance. Room size is bit small and parking lots are really limited for guests. However, ample parking are available nearby places at own risk.

Room Tip: Room with windows is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the TA review.

We provide the basic for a good night sleep; clean rooms, comfortable beds and relaxing power shower for a great slumber experience

Providing the basic helps keep prices competitive. This allows great band of affordability particularly targeted at the value-conscious travelers.Car parking facilities are not an elemental service, hence spaces are scarce.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel we are glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Second time here and this time we tried both coffee shops that sandwiched this hotel. One, Maria's "wantan" were tasty and cheap (RM3.00 only for 10 small wantan with soup) that opens in the evening, and the other, Fatty's chicken rice and "teh" were palatable and affordable (RM6.00 for "char-siew" rice and RM0.90 for "teh") that opens in the morning. Besides that, Starbucks (that offers 20% discount for Tune Hotel guests) and Old Town White Coffee located just next door offers food and drinks plus free WiFi.

Room Tip: For two adults, choose two single beds instead of one double bed, and be forewarned that bathroom do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the TA review.

We provide the basic for a good night sleep; clean rooms, comfortable beds and relaxing power shower for a great slumber experience

Providing the basic helps keep prices competitive. This allows great band of affordability particularly targeted at the value-conscious travellers

Facilities you find at regular hotels are packaged as add-ons to offer options, and ultimately the choice to tailor make your stay that's easy on your pockets.

Many find our concept great-value for money.

Thanks for the review and I hope you'll continue being a fan.

Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a great time exploring the heart of Georgetown on foot, based from Tune Hotel. Loads of food around (must try the oyster omelette in New World Park. yummy!) Try breakfast at Macallister Lane, just 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Explore the Chowrasta market on Penang Road and hit the famous Penang Road Cendol... It was truly a gastronomic weekend, all done walking out from Tune Hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us. and for the review.

We put a lot of emphasis on ensuring that out hotel is functional and that, guests enjoy soothingly powerful shower for a relaxing treat.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As I came to the hotel I expected a hostel-like hotel with uncomfortable beds and inadequate staff. I was pleasantly surprised that the rooms were very basic but clean, the beds comfortable although there was no TV which I expect. Every room has an inroom safe and the door has a good safety lock. There is no cupboard which is already written on their website but you can hang your clothes on a clothes stand. The view was very nice on Penang Hill and Gurney drive but you could hear a loud Chinese karaoke until 2 am. The bathroom was small but it had a shower cabin and a huge shower. In the meantime I have been back for at least 10 times. The location is good and you can get anywhere on foot. As I came back last time, the manager greeted me personally and gave me a small present. A new feature: free hot and cold water in the lobby but you have to bring your own cup. There is a reading corner and a large flat screen TV there too. Always book as early as possible and not in the high season. If you book late, you will pay RM 80-100 and for this price you will get a better value hotel

Room Tip: The rooms facing Penang Hill have nicer views but they are noisier due to the karaoke. Rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

We are glad in making your stay a pleasant and warmly memorable experience.

See you soon.

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Went to the hotel half heartedly thinking about the service and cleanliness. Got our room, entered enthusiastically , hubby was checking the toilet bowl n I was checking the bed linen. Got a shock, saw blood stain on the linen and on the door. Managed to change the room. Got a different room, it was clean n worth the penny.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks for the review.

Clean, comfortable and value for money. That's our pride.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly and that you had a good slumber experience

It's always rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed our 5 star beds at 1 star prices.
Thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get 5-star beds at 1-star prices with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. The Downtown Penang hotel features 258 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms, centrally located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang. Food and attractions of Penang within easy reach. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via pay-as-you-use add-ons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.