We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is rather small but enough! Its like M'sian's Cilli Padi~~~” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - 20% off!
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Room is rather small but enough! Its like M'sian's Cilli Padi~~~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

1st time experience staying at the hotel, having to purchase credit for air-cond use was also my 1st time. I had to think about the electrical bill saving into my budget. Well, it is rather cheap and considerable price!

I love the sight from the hotel window where I stayed. I had also extended my stay for 1 night.

The room housekeeping is nice and tidy. And being a very strategic location whereby walking distances to shopping malls e.g. Perangin Mall, Pacific Mall, 1st Avenue etc. is really a plus!

Overall, I really love the experience being at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    405
    177
    61
    47
See reviews for
156
252
139
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel is quite convenitent, its clean and close to Packson mall and resturant, the room is not very big but very clean, the bed is enough for 2 people, there is a barkey and noodle resturant opposite to the hotel.

Room Tip: Take bus 401 or 401E and get of at Kotamar station, then 10 minutes walk to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We offer the basic; a comfortable bed and hot shower for a wonderful slumber experience, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices. Our rooms are space-challenged, but they're impeccably clean and perfectly adequate as "crash pads".

Our limited service concept encourages guests to spend less within the hotel itself, driving more spend outside the hotel.

Keeping things clean, comfy and compact helps in regulating affordable pricing, thus, translating them to saving for guests.

Thank you so much for the feedback and we happy to be part of making your stay a worthwhile experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice clean and cosy room to stay in. A wonderful experience definately. One plus point is that you have those wonderful ceiling fan attached to the ceiling. It certainly works wonder when you are in need of some really cool air in the room after a hot day out.

Room well maintained! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Comfortable bed and power shower makes Tune a charm for the ones looking for good value for money. We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

We have always endeavoured to provide the best within our limited service concept.

Thanks for being our guest and for this review, once again. Looking forward to having you back soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Firstly, its clean, tidy and close to KOMTAR Tower. That's all the good about this hotel. They are expensive for the size and service they provide. Rooms are too small. You cant keep two travel bags in the room, it fills up all empty space in the room. You need to pay extra for any toiletry, A/C can be taken hourly basis (not bad), any other facility is room is also pay on use basis. Hotel is situated at a walk able distance from KOMTAR or you can take local bus which will stop in front of this hotel. But you wont get a bus back to KOMTAR from here as its one way and better take a taxi or walk (difficult if its hot).

But that makes you upset is you cant checkin till 2pm even if they have vacant rooms! And you need to pay to keep your luggage in their care if you want to roam around till the time room is allocated. I feel you can get better hotel for similar rates and go here only if you get a very good deal.

Room Tip: This is just for stop over for the night guys, never for long stay travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the TA review.

We provide the basic for a good night sleep; clean rooms, comfortable beds and relaxing power shower for a great slumber experience

Providing the basic helps keep prices competitive. We reduce the room size and complimentary extras whilst simultaneously lowering the prices we offer.

Facilities you find at regular hotels are packaged as add-ons to offer options, and ultimately the choice to tailor make your stay that's easy on your pockets.

Our budget friendly concept, allows guests to use these savings to splurge outdoors.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for a place that is clean, secure and value for money. Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

it's my 2nd time to penang. good location, close to local food, nice and helpful staff with clear guidance. it's not far from Komtar, if you go by walking, only cost you 10mins, where you can take MPPP free shuttle bus to those places of interests in downtown, also there're other buses you can go to beach, temples, airport, jetty...and so on. Also, you can easily find a lot famous local restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay. Our concept and pricing typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Location is very very good.it is strategically located in the centre of Penang Town.At a cheap price,my family of four managed to get 2 comfortable connecting rooms.And not to forget a very powerful shower!The only disadvantage is the parking.Very limited and you have to park opposite the hotel on the streets at a low price with no security.

Room Tip: Corner rooms got a good view of the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay. Our concept and pricing typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to be honest.you've be only miss your telly.very neat,simple and comfortable.i missed it already!the bed is comfort and nice.the only problem was the ants.i found ants on the table,bedside table and bedsheet as well.but overall it was an awesome place to stay.the coffeeshop was nearby,you choose either starbucks or oldtown coffee.there's also Al-Hass Cafe just opposite the hotel,around 100m that provided really soft roti canai and teh tarik.i really love this hotel location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the TA review.

We provide the basic for a good night sleep; clean rooms, comfortable beds and relaxing power shower for a great slumber experience

Providing the basic helps keep prices competitive. This allows great band of affordability particularly targeted at the value-conscious travelers. All our properties are always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support.

See you soon.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get 5-star beds at 1-star prices with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. The Downtown Penang hotel features 258 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms, centrally located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang. Food and attractions of Penang within easy reach. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via pay-as-you-use add-ons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.