We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - 20% off!
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Guangzhou, China
1 review
“good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location & service is good,nearby the Komtar center, as well as free half-hour Internet.But the twin room is very narrow,but the hotel ask for check in must be after 14:00pm,although their rooms are idle

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    405
    178
    61
    47
See reviews for
158
253
138
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It is indeed in a good location which surround by delicious foodies. 5 stars bed and comfortable shower room. Very convenient for transportation to go any where else in penang island. strongly suggest this tune hotel which locator over here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

I am glad that we have met your expectations; making your stay a warmly memorable experience.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

With only RM38.55 per person, Tune Hotel Downtown Penang was amazingly SUPERB !!!
We purchased Quad room as there were 4 of us. However once we reached there, only we know that actually we got connecting rooms with 1 twin bedroom and another one is queen bed.
Space is not an issue for us as we didn't expect much for budget hotel. The room is tidy and clean, nothing much to complaint about. As we purchased the quad room, we got free 24 hours air conditioning to our room. But hey, if we didn't purchased the aircond, I think ceiling fan is more than enough for us to stay in that room.
Location-wise, very easy to access and just a walking distance to 7E, Guardian, Starbucks and Old Town White Coffee.
A very good experience for us staying here and yes, we'll definitely come again :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel

We offer the basic; a comfortable bed and hot shower for a wonderful slumber experience, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

It's rewarding to have guests return with great feedback like yours, and we are happy to have made your stay and a warmly memorable experience.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for a place that is clean, secure and value for money.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you're looking for a clean room with a comfy bed to stay in, Tune is the way to go. I spent 153RM in Penang, Malaysia for two nights (included air con. and late check out). Great deal. I'd definately use Tune again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the first hotel that I have checked into and checked straight back out of in less than 30 minutes. Where do I start, the walls were covered in dirt and grime with grubby marks that obviously haven't been cleaned since day dot. The shower still had remints of the previous guest’s body lotion and what not still splattered all over the shower screen. The bathroom mirror was covered in toothpaste. I won't even go there about the toilet, and I wouldn't have even considered walking on the floor without my shoes on. The bed linen had stains and holes in it and the pillows should have been thrown in the bin a decade ago (they were so stained they were yellow from everybody’s body fluid). And the sad part of this is I paid to have a better room at the hotel, would have hated to see what they provided for their cheapest rooms or may have been a blessing to have received a room with now window. That way I wouldn't have seen the scum that this hotel is!!!! With your guest turnover you can afford to get your act together Tune!!!!

Room Tip: My tip would be: Don't even consider staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We are disappointed to read about your experience and apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

I regret to hear that cleanliness level was not up to your expectations. Cleanliness is always an important factor that we promise to deliver. We ensure action taken to improve.

Sincere apologies for this unpleasantness marring your stay, we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

5 star experience...just a little more space will make the bedroom nicer...
try rearranging the flip wood...something wrong with the smell everytime u come into the room...smell like shieldtox but will go away...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The location of Tune Hotel Penang, being in the vicinity of Pulau Tikus and New World Centre, for the tastes of Penang hawkers' fare. Another great place to enjoy Penang's food and a great view is Northam Beach Cafe, which is short hop away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get 5-star beds at 1-star prices with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. The Downtown Penang hotel features 258 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms, centrally located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang. Food and attractions of Penang within easy reach. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via pay-as-you-use add-ons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.