We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at Tune hotel downtown Penang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct - 20% off!
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Bogor, Indonesia
1 review
“Excellent service at Tune hotel downtown Penang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We're surprised with our quad bedroom. We've booked without AC,hairdryer and shared bathrooms. But when we arrived there, we had it all for free with two private bathrooms. Staff hotel (Mr.Rahim) let us to check in 30 minutes before time. He also listened to our complain about left luggage before check in and compromised it with left luggage after check out for free. Thanks Tune hotel..

Room Tip: Quad room at level 8 for 4 persons. its in the corner so in the morning we can open windows and fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    411
    182
    61
    49
See reviews for
160
255
141
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The Tune hotel is a perfect example of the adage "you get what you pay for" and also a perfect example of what that means by way of omissions.

We paid the equivalent of about £8 per night, having booked late August 2012, for which we got a 2.5 x 3.5 metre room with no wardrobe, but with a very small hanging rail and only three hangers. Decent storage? Omission number one! Even a small amount of luggage takes up much of what little floor space there is. (We decided to opt out of the daily maid service to avoid having to find somewhere for all the strewn luggage.). There were two chipped and damaged bedside cabinets with no drawers but space underneath you can use for storage, however one of these spaces is occupied by the good sized safe, for which there is no charge to use. Two wall hung bedside lamps, a small fold down table and a full length wall mirror completes the "suite".

The cleanliness left a lot to be desired, particularly in the shower room. The sink was clean, toilet was ok but the seat must always be in the up position when it's being cleaned as the area around the hinges seem to have been neglected for a while. Cobwebs and dead weevils in the shower added to the overall feeling of minimal cleaning effort. The glass screen had heavy soap scum marks from about waist height down and had definitely not had been cleaned properly in a long time. The tiled floor seemed clean and was cool underfoot. Cleanliness - omission number two!

Slightly concerning was the fact the the door closers on the fire doors between the lift lobby and the room corridors had been disconnected, and the doors were permanently open. I made sure I knew exactly where the closest escape route was!

Our rooms were street facing and given that the noise goes on pretty much all night, I'd have appreciated windows that actually fitted well, with double glazing as a welcome bonus. If you need peace and quiet for a good night s sleep, request a back or alley facing room or make sure you pack a sturdy pair of ear plugs. Decent windows? Omission number three!

On the plus side, the beds were comfortable, bed linen clean and pillows acceptable. The location is great for local and international coffee shops, various eateries, local cultural sites, colourful businesses and within easy walking distance to downtown.

Air conditioning consists of a ceiling mounted fan that's robust enough to keep the air circulating and bearable. This can be supplemented by an air con unit (extra charge which we took as an option in our £8) that works a dream and keeps the room chiller cool and adequately beats the Penang heat. One of our rooms had no remote control for the ceiling fan, but maintenance was very quickly on the case and when he couldn't fix it with a new remote, promptly topped up the air con to cover the whole of our stay. Way to go the maintenance guy!

If the room was either slightly bigger or had more/better storage and if the level of basic cleanliness was improved, this would actually be perfect, cheap downtown accommodation. To be honest, I'd take improved cleanliness over the room dimensions!

For UK folks, if you can imagine your worst Travelodge experience and use that as a high benchmark, you're less likely to be surprised and disappointed by what you find at the Downtown Tune Hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for the review.

My apologies for not meeting up to your expectations when it comes to cleanliness. Besides, am equally happy to know that you were able to bear with us on the room size.

Our rooms are space efficient and functional. It helps in regulating affordable pricing, thus, translating them to saving for guests. We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

For non-essential items such as TV, wi-fi, air conditioning , guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements.

This review has been shared amongst them and I hope we would live up to your expectations when you come by next.

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

this actually my 2nd visit to tune hotel penang..they still provide good service, clean room and now there's a massage chair in their lobby just for 1 - 5 myr. needless to say almost all tune hotel have a good location including this one you can reach almost everywhere in penang by bus just acroos the hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Tune penang is complete value for money , room is of decent size considering the concept also compared to LCCT , pre booked it for RM 100 for 2 nights was in two minds after staying at Tune LCCT for one night.
Location is good 5 minute walk to KOMTAR , next to hotel is New world park where breakfast is available ( old town cafe / Starbucks ) .
Room is clean & Bed was comfortable .
Staff at hotel are friendly & polite , ready to help
If on short visit to penang & have to spend most of time exploring the island will definetly opt for this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Tune is a charm for the ones looking for good value for money. We take pride in providing the 3c's ; comfort, cleanliness, and convenience. We want our guests to enjoy our 5 star beds, the soothingly powerful shower.

We have always endeavored to provide the best within our service concept and fulfilling our promise of wonderful slumber experience.

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our Tune experience was generally excellent. Close to the Komtar shopping and bus hub - excellent food nearby, a walk to the heritage area of Georgetown.
The staff were relaxed, friendly and helpful, rooms clean, reasonably quiet but rather cramped with little room for luggage, beds excellent as were the bathrooms.
Only downside was the lack of security on the WiFi internet service - all messages could be hacked .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I booked and paid 2 nights at Tunes Hotel Penang, but decided after the first night to check out of this hotel and then move to another hotel.

Pros :
- Location is good. Right next to a Starbucks, and about 10-15 min walk to the hawker stalls on Jalan Macalister.

Cons:
- there is very limited carpark inside the hotel (ie 15-18 spots?). So first come, first serve.
- check in is on Level 2, and it feels like an Air Asia airline counter at LCCT. No class.
- Room is very small, even a double bed with window.
- Room is very noisy, especially noise from the window and also from the corridors. I can hear scooters riding by on the road. I can hear people walking in the corridors outside.
- Bed is not comfortable.
- Floor is dirty
- We ordered the towel amenity set. We got a very thin cheap towel (and told to return it at the end of the stay) and also one disposable soap and one very small detergent that they call shampoo / conditioner

It was a terrible night sleep, so we decided to check out one day early and find another hotel.

I will not return to Tune Hotel. Maybe this basic "motel" appeals to some people because of the price and location, but it does not appeal to me.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room with window. It is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices. As such this explains why car parking facilities are not part of the Tune model.

I have picked up some of the areas that are in need for improvements and assure you that we’ll work on ensuring the needful is carried out soon.

We hope to be perfectly equipped in making your stay a pleasant experience the next time you come by.

See you soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

shouls expand ur tune hotel location throughout malaysia.
....1 state 1 tune hotel..nice hospitality, room alittle bit small and congested...
Convenience location as just a walking distance from georgetown....provide more parking space and should have more facilities and bfast venue.


Should allow a free wifi in ur hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get 5-star beds at 1-star prices with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. The Downtown Penang hotel features 258 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms, centrally located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang. Food and attractions of Penang within easy reach. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via pay-as-you-use add-ons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.