We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked and Paid 2 nights, then checked out after 1st night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotels Downtown Penang

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotels Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotels Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct - 20% off!
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Booked and Paid 2 nights, then checked out after 1st night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I booked and paid 2 nights at Tunes Hotel Penang, but decided after the first night to check out of this hotel and then move to another hotel.

Pros :
- Location is good. Right next to a Starbucks, and about 10-15 min walk to the hawker stalls on Jalan Macalister.

Cons:
- there is very limited carpark inside the hotel (ie 15-18 spots?). So first come, first serve.
- check in is on Level 2, and it feels like an Air Asia airline counter at LCCT. No class.
- Room is very small, even a double bed with window.
- Room is very noisy, especially noise from the window and also from the corridors. I can hear scooters riding by on the road. I can hear people walking in the corridors outside.
- Bed is not comfortable.
- Floor is dirty
- We ordered the towel amenity set. We got a very thin cheap towel (and told to return it at the end of the stay) and also one disposable soap and one very small detergent that they call shampoo / conditioner

It was a terrible night sleep, so we decided to check out one day early and find another hotel.

I will not return to Tune Hotel. Maybe this basic "motel" appeals to some people because of the price and location, but it does not appeal to me.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room with window. It is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Tune Hotels requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices. As such this explains why car parking facilities are not part of the Tune model.

I have picked up some of the areas that are in need for improvements and assure you that we’ll work on ensuring the needful is carried out soon.

We hope to be perfectly equipped in making your stay a pleasant experience the next time you come by.

See you soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    378
    160
    61
    44
See reviews for
147
236
129
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

shouls expand ur tune hotel location throughout malaysia.
....1 state 1 tune hotel..nice hospitality, room alittle bit small and congested...
Convenience location as just a walking distance from georgetown....provide more parking space and should have more facilities and bfast venue.


Should allow a free wifi in ur hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We move to room with good view in 2nd day, the room is better. Clean, very affordable price. We got 300 myr only for 5 days stay. I think they should have TV (even pay), like another Tune Hotels in Malaysia or Bali. And the Internet should be not 24 hours continuously, like the AC. Because impossible we will use 24 hours continuously. Normally we will use evening after comeback from the Tour then continue again next evening. There's nice food between the hotel and new world park, the lunch is very nice. Recommend!!!
Overall nice hotels!!!

Room Tip: Asking for room with view city, don't ask for room that facing window another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your post stay review.

We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and we hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very clean, and comfortable environment. I only need to pay those facilities that I need. eg. air conditioner, TV...
One thing not so good is no enough parking. If there is plenty of car park, I will book this hotel without second thought for my next trip to Penang.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review

Our hotel essentially operates on a limited service concept, parallel to a “pay as you use concept” Since we are a Limited Service Hotel, we provide the basics for a good night sleep.


For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, and air-conditioning, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices. As such this explains why car parking facilities are not part of the Tune model.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am a person who is very particular about my hotel room, and I find this good enough if you are visiting Penang. When in Penang, no one will stay much of their time in room. You will only need a place to sleep + clean up and Tune Hotel is just the right place. Located strategically near all the yummy food and must visit places. Saves a lot of money on transportation cos the location is so strategic you only need your feet and a map to travel around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot shower, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, at extremely affordable prices.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and we hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Booked twin room for me and my friend and was surprised - in a good way. The room was big and very comfortable. During our stay, Thaipusam parade was held just outside our hotel and fortunately our room was not affected by the sound (Luckily we were given the room facing the backside of the hotel)

Location-wise, awesome! Walked just 15minutes to the Chowrasta, near KOMTAR and 1st avenue mall and 15minutes driving to Gurney.

Overall, had a pleasant stay here.

Room Tip: Do not book Double Room if you're very particular about your space - very very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

Indeed, our properties are always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

from my arrival at the penang tune hotel i couldn't have been treated better than by it's manager
and its staff..the manager escorted me up in the lift to my room on the eighth floor that had a great view .over the years that i have have stayed at this hotel i have always been treated in a similar manner and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the north or east side for a great view from the 6th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotels Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotels Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotels Downtown Penang

Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotels Downtown Penang Georgetown
Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotels Downtown Penang 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get 5-star beds at 1-star prices with Tune Hotels branded limited-service hotels. The Downtown Penang hotel features 258 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms, centrally located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang. Food and attractions of Penang within easy reach. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via pay-as-you-use add-ons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tune Hotels Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotels Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.