We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay what you need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - 20% off!
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
Georgetown, Malaysia
1 review
“Pay what you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very clean, and comfortable environment. I only need to pay those facilities that I need. eg. air conditioner, TV...
One thing not so good is no enough parking. If there is plenty of car park, I will book this hotel without second thought for my next trip to Penang.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review

Our hotel essentially operates on a limited service concept, parallel to a “pay as you use concept” Since we are a Limited Service Hotel, we provide the basics for a good night sleep.


For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, and air-conditioning, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price. The benefit of this efficiency is passed on to the consumer providing excellent value for money and low prices. As such this explains why car parking facilities are not part of the Tune model.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    405
    178
    61
    48
See reviews for
158
253
138
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am a person who is very particular about my hotel room, and I find this good enough if you are visiting Penang. When in Penang, no one will stay much of their time in room. You will only need a place to sleep + clean up and Tune Hotel is just the right place. Located strategically near all the yummy food and must visit places. Saves a lot of money on transportation cos the location is so strategic you only need your feet and a map to travel around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot shower, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, at extremely affordable prices.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and we hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Booked twin room for me and my friend and was surprised - in a good way. The room was big and very comfortable. During our stay, Thaipusam parade was held just outside our hotel and fortunately our room was not affected by the sound (Luckily we were given the room facing the backside of the hotel)

Location-wise, awesome! Walked just 15minutes to the Chowrasta, near KOMTAR and 1st avenue mall and 15minutes driving to Gurney.

Overall, had a pleasant stay here.

Room Tip: Do not book Double Room if you're very particular about your space - very very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

Indeed, our properties are always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Thank you for tuning in and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

from my arrival at the penang tune hotel i couldn't have been treated better than by it's manager
and its staff..the manager escorted me up in the lift to my room on the eighth floor that had a great view .over the years that i have have stayed at this hotel i have always been treated in a similar manner and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the north or east side for a great view from the 6th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
591 reviews 591 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
1,052 helpful votes 1,052 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a 2 night stay so we could explore Georgetown. Location is great with restaurants, shopping and convenience stores outside the front door. Komtar and 1st Avenue Shopping Centre a short walk away but we elected to use a trishaw.

Some negatives are that the rooms could do with a lick of paint and the bathroom tiles and ceiling had mould issues. I paid for 2 days in room wifi and I must say the Internet was worthless. It was extremely slow and continually dropped you out. And the password had to be re entered on numerous occasions.

It is a budget and great value hotel but after staying in their newer hotel in Angeles in the Philippines a bit of a let down. In the Philippines they also have flat screen TV mounted on the wall as an extra add on.This is something all Tune Hotels should look at providing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.


We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

We adopt a strong service culture and are of course, are concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

This feedback has been channeled to the relevant team for improvements.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

We hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Tune hotel Penang overall are good but the customer services are suck!!!....early in the morning ard 8 am, there was a stupid guy there didn't give any inform and haven't get any permission then straight away open my room while. Am still sleeping! And the worst was he didn't apologies after that! What the hell! I wanna to say that! Even room keeping shd not be that early in the morning at 8 am! This is irrespective to customers ! People please beware of their type of stupid service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for choosing Tune Hotels for your recent stay.

We are disappointed to read about your experience and apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

This feedback has been channelled to the relevant team for improvements.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIANJIN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Room is cleaning and comfortable with a good location nearby the George Town and Komatar where is the centre bus station of Penang.You can take bus form airport to here about 1 hour.My room also have a window with good view.Next time I will choose this hotel again!Only trouble is Room have a little noisy because towards the street.We get the pomo price of 2 days 74RM with the air-conditioning and shower package.

Room Tip: Room have a little noisy because towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get 5-star beds at 1-star prices with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. The Downtown Penang hotel features 258 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms, centrally located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang. Food and attractions of Penang within easy reach. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via pay-as-you-use add-ons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.