We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay at the penang tune hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in George Town
hanoi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“enjoyable stay at the penang tune hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

from my arrival at the penang tune hotel i couldn't have been treated better than by it's manager
and its staff..the manager escorted me up in the lift to my room on the eighth floor that had a great view .over the years that i have have stayed at this hotel i have always been treated in a similar manner and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the north or east side for a great view from the 6th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    492
    252
    77
    59
See reviews for
203
305
179
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
869 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,445 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a 2 night stay so we could explore Georgetown. Location is great with restaurants, shopping and convenience stores outside the front door. Komtar and 1st Avenue Shopping Centre a short walk away but we elected to use a trishaw.

Some negatives are that the rooms could do with a lick of paint and the bathroom tiles and ceiling had mould issues. I paid for 2 days in room wifi and I must say the Internet was worthless. It was extremely slow and continually dropped you out. And the password had to be re entered on numerous occasions.

It is a budget and great value hotel but after staying in their newer hotel in Angeles in the Philippines a bit of a let down. In the Philippines they also have flat screen TV mounted on the wall as an extra add on.This is something all Tune Hotels should look at providing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.


We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

We adopt a strong service culture and are of course, are concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

This feedback has been channeled to the relevant team for improvements.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

We hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Tune hotel Penang overall are good but the customer services are suck!!!....early in the morning ard 8 am, there was a stupid guy there didn't give any inform and haven't get any permission then straight away open my room while. Am still sleeping! And the worst was he didn't apologies after that! What the hell! I wanna to say that! Even room keeping shd not be that early in the morning at 8 am! This is irrespective to customers ! People please beware of their type of stupid service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for choosing Tune Hotels for your recent stay.

We are disappointed to read about your experience and apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

This feedback has been channelled to the relevant team for improvements.

In any case we apologize sincerely for this unpleasantness marring your stay - thank you once again for highlighting the matter to us for our action.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIANJIN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Room is cleaning and comfortable with a good location nearby the George Town and Komatar where is the centre bus station of Penang.You can take bus form airport to here about 1 hour.My room also have a window with good view.Next time I will choose this hotel again!Only trouble is Room have a little noisy because towards the street.We get the pomo price of 2 days 74RM with the air-conditioning and shower package.

Room Tip: Room have a little noisy because towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for staying with us.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Since it's just a night stay for my friend and i while we cant check into USM hostel on 20th, we decide to booked a room at tunehotels.com downtown penang via online. No add-on since we have everything in our luggage, just needed a bed & a room to stay for that night prior to spending 3 weeksa time at USM Hostel for our distance learning classes and exam. This stay just a simple and comfy stay for me & a friend with cheap and affordable price. Its near to town and surrouded with foods around. It will always my first choice if comes to budgetting hotel. Will definitely choose it when i travel with family & friends :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for the review.

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our, services and facilities and I know my team will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

It's always rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed our 5 star beds at 1 star prices.
Thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

my friends and i stayed at tune hotel downtown penang from 14 January- 16 January 2013. i booked last May 2012 during promotion period and it cost me around RM14 including tax (usd 5) per night per room for 2 people. the price is extremely cheap for budget hotel but looked like 3 star hotel. the bed was awesome and comfortable.
tips: book only what u want. for example, i don't take any comfortable package (tv or wi-fi) or any other packages that they offered, i chose only the basic things. have a pleasant stay everyone !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks for the review.

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our, services and facilities and I know my team will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

It's always rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed our 5 star beds at 1 star prices.
Thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
no
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is the most terrible hotel I have ever stay, the room looks like haunted for some times, floor sandy and dirty, room full of human body smell.

You can see some pictures I posted.

Rm 100 hotel condition like this huh, terrible, water in bathroom keep occasionally dripping water in the midnight, I'm not sure what happen and probably you could guess

Blanket like never washed, one word sucks.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#24 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#27 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#40 of 71 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#20 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#30 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.