We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable with excellence service at superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in George Town
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Affordable with excellence service at superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The experience was great. This is my first time stayed in Tune Hotel. Heard many good reviews and my friend highly recommended me especially the Tune Hotel in Downtown Penang as the location is fantastic. With very affordable price I'm paying for 3 nights, the room is comfortable and just nice. There are food stalls and shops at almost every corner of Tune Hotel once you step out. There is a nice chicken rice shop just left to the hotel, a food court with many famous food on the right side of the hotel and several more walking distance away along Jalan Burma and Lorong Selamat.
In terms of public transport like buses, there are bus stop nearby with minimum time waiting as many buses passes the road in front of the hotel and also a walking distance to Komtar, the tallest building in the heart of Georgetown where the main bus station is located.
The UNESCO heritage area is also walking distance away from Tune Hotel. I have no complain at all about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    432
    201
    66
    50
See reviews for
169
265
155
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were able to visit our favourite restaurants because Tune Hotel is really downtown! Our friends also found it very convenient to fetch us and drop us off every evening. The rooms were clean and facilities were good, beyond our expectation actually! The staff at the reception counter was efficient and that made our 2-night stay very pleasant! Will definitely visit again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests

We hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

it gave me a feel of home. So I can fully recharged after a whole day visitting many places in Penang. Tune Hotels also let me get 20% discount to enjoy great beverages at Starbucks which is next to it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay

It's pleasure to have guests return with great feedback like yours, and we are happy to have made your stay a pleasant one.

See you soon.

Rgds,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed on the 6th floor with our window facing Burmah Road. While having a window gave us great views of the vicinity, it also gave us audio lashings the entire time that we were in the room as the windows were not double-glazed. There are traffic lights near the entrance of the hotel, so the sound of motorbikes' engine rev, as well as the pedestrian crossing alarm (which rings every minute) could be heard. This situation could be truly annoying if one is a light sleeper.

The room is clean and is a slight squeeze, but then again, it IS a budget hotel so no complaints there. Mirrors are strategically placed to give an illusion of a bigger space and it makes the room brighter even with minimal lighting. The sheets are clean, but they do have old stains on them. Quality-wise, the bed and comforter are indeed comfortable – definitely hotel quality. The curtain is of heavy material and cuts light effectively - perfect if one decides to sleep in.

The shower dispenses hot and cold water. Rugs are provided, and are changed daily. Toilet paper is provided. Towels and toiletries can be purchased if required. Air-conditioning would also have to be purchased – they are sold in blocks of 12-hours or 24-hours. We feel that the little ceiling fan in each room is powerful enough to ventilate the whole room, so the air-conditioning may not be necessary. We also find that the air-conditioner only cools half the room; the other half not in direct sight of the air-conditioner is somewhat neglected.

The whole hotel is not carpeted, which probably makes for easy cleaning. However, the non-carpeted corridors produces echo. Passers-by voices and footsteps can be heard easily through the door.

The reception is situated on the 2nd floor; the ground floor of the building is just the elevators. These elevators do not require a keycard to access the floors with rooms, which poses a security issue. There is a security guard on the ground floor, but he mainly oversees the parking area. This parking area costs RM5 per entry; one also have the option of parking on Jewish Street (now called Jalan Zainal Abidin) for free after working hours.

Location-wise, this hotel is within walking distance to many places to visit and to eat. Penang Road is 5-10 minutes walk away, where one can find many places to eat and drink. For a quick bite during the daytime, New World Park is just next door to this hotel and many local foods can be found here. Do try the Ais Kacang (shaved ice with syrup and various toppings) here. For more information on local foods, grab the ‘Penang Food Trail’ brochure from reception. Many of the places listed here are within walking distance from the hotel.

Would recommend staying here for the location. Room rates can be cheap during their sales period, so if you know you are going to Penang beforehand, do check out their website periodically.

Room Tip: Try asking for higher floors, or rooms with windows facing the inner courtyard if you are a light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

You get wat u pay for. this is a extremely basic hotel.
A bed and a toilet.
Do not expect hotel facility and 5 class services.

Pros:-
-Excellent location , near to shopping malls, tourist attractions and famous food stalls.

Cons:-
-The sound proof is extremely terrible. if you must sleep in very quiet environment, i would suggest you to look for proper hotel. You can hear people walking, slamming door and baby crying ALL NIGHT LONG.
-Do not expect any basic stuff that ordinary hotel would provide. the room is basically consist of a bed and a bathroom. But I am happy that it have a small safe. Aside from that, NO water, No bath tub, No wardrobe, No toothbrush/toothpaste, No free aircon, No telephone, No table, No chair, No cup, No tea set, No kettle and etc.
-Cleanliness also is not really happenning in this hotel. There are stains everywhere on the bedsheet (even after they changed in front of me). If you are very particular, I would suggest you to bring your own sleeping bag. The housekeeping throw the bedsheet and pillow on the floor (dirty floor) while changing my bedsheet. so this is the cleanliness standard that the hotel is practising. The toilet is even worst. brownish stains everywhere.
-The front desk staff are not in good mood. maybe is because they need to work during Hari Raya?
-the hotel room is so pack, it make me stress rather than relax.
-Limited free car park. there are a chargeable carpark next to hotel. after discount is about RM15-17 per night. If you opt to park at road side is at your own risk. I saw a car with smashed windows.

Conclusion,
You get what you pay for.
I will definately not going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you for posting a review.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower, Our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

'For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, air -conditioning, toiletries and hairdryers, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Our hotel has successfully pioneered a branded value hotel brand with the concept of pay-as-you-use that has become hugely popular amongst travelers from across the world.

We hope you give us the opportunity to once again welcome you on board and provide you the positive Tune Hotel experience you have come to expect from us.


Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The location is great. We took a local bus (403/403E) from the airport and got off at Komtar. Asked locals for directions and they all knew the hotel. It's about 10 min. walk.
Georgetown is small enough to walk around by foot but you can also take the free city bus which stops near the hotel. Buses going to attractions (Gurney drive, Butterfly farm, beach etc.) further away are also stopping nearby. Just make sure you have the exact change because locals will go crazy if you don't. Ask the friendly hotel staff for the bus numbers etc.

Plenty of food options nearby. Walk around and you will see. A really good Chinese pastry shop is across the street. Their stuff are really cheap and tasty! It's always fresh and still warm/hot. One or two shops next to it is a laundry shop. Didn't use it, but if you want/need to wash your clothes you will have to do it there, because the hotel has no laundry service/facilities. If you need to exchange money go to the places across Kapitan Keling Mosque. There are like 10 exchange vendors there. Walk around and compare as the rates vary. We got really good rates there. It was in one of the shops in the middle.

Early check in or bag storage cost extra money. If you have a lot of bags it might be a better deal to check in early. I liked the fact that you could switch off AC and use your fan. The AC was sometimes getting too cold for me. If you want to save money, you can first try using their fan before buying AC credit.

We got a corner room on a higher floor. The room was much more spacious and clean than the one at KLIA LCCT. The bed was comfortable and water pressure was good. The bathroom had some ants, but I am okay with that. The room is quiet during the day but at midnight we could hear music from outside. I think we were facing a club (??). It didn't bother me too much. I was too tired.

The reception area is on the 2nd floor and was also like a common area for the guests. There is free AC, free computers to go online, TV and plenty of seats to relax. Overall a great budget place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Good location that a lot of restaurant near to hotel. Besides that, shopping complex near around and shortened down traveling time to reach the destination. Seven Eleven at the bottom of the hotel,bar room, old town and attractions located at the strategy area easy to find out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get 5-star beds at 1-star prices with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. The Downtown Penang hotel features 258 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms, centrally located in the heart of Georgetown, Penang. Food and attractions of Penang within easy reach. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via pay-as-you-use add-ons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.