We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean helpful a good bet for a bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tune Hotel Downtown Penang to your Saves list
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“clean helpful a good bet for a bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Not much to say it was clean functional and in an ok location nice staff good massage in house and we found it good enough for us it not the ritz but is cheap n cheerful prob helped it was new

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    462
    227
    73
    56
See reviews for
187
289
165
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed in tune penang for 3 nights. The room is small but clean. Location is good. Near komtar. Geogtown. Staffs here are all polite and helpfull. You may get free maps in the hall. Although you have to pay for the wifi, you may use their computer in the hall free for half an hour. Besides, there are so many foods around Tune. Value for money to stay here:)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banda Aceh, Aceh, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Although the room is quite small but it's clean and the bed is very comfortable. The shower was awesome.. The location of the hotel is also very good because some shopping area you can go just by walking.. Starbucks just few minutes walking.. And you should try the old town coffe house cause they have the best nasi lemak..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I'm just one request to tune hotel, please take care of cleaner the bed cover. very itching when i'm sleeping the bed.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

i ve decided to write this review because i find the hotel very pleasant and that those who wrote the bad reviews did not do their research well enough to review this hotel. Tune Hotel is managed by the same company as Air Asia, a budget airline. and therefore the Tune Hotels are also following the budget footsteps as Air Asia. their concept is similar. the flights of air asia also have add ons, and this is so that people pay for what they only require. i stayed here for a week during my trip in penang this early january and it was about rm60 a night for the double room including a 24 hour air conditioning. the price is extremely reasonable (but maybe cos we booked it about 3 months earlier) as it was comfy and was simply basic with hot shower. some budget hotels in penang do not have hot shower and they are of about the same rate! for a budget hotel, this is really comfortable and reasonably clean. bathroom is a bit on the small side, but we were okay with it. they have a safe box in the room and a long mirror so for us it was adequate. we didnt need a telly cos we were out the whole day. location-wise, its in a really nice place. its at the center of the city and we find that all the nice coffee shops are within 5-10 minutes drive. if you are into walking, there are many famous places to eat at lorong selamat, burmah road, madras lane, penang road etc etc all of which are about 10-15 minute walking distance. gurney drive is about 15-20 minutes drive away depending on traffic and perangin mall and komtar is just nearby. during our 6 nights there, we didnt pay a cent for parking as they told us that the parking behind the hotel is now available for free. this may be due to a non-peak season and we find that there are enough parking spaces (though it can be full by midnight). all in all, it was a wonderful stay and it became our home for 6 nights. its a budget hotel so we have no high expectations but for the student-friendly rates, it was very good and have no doubt returning to this hotel again (with early online booking of course!)

Room Tip: We got a corner room, facing the ocean so there is a lot of sea breeze at night. it was very pleasan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The 7 days stay were surprisingly good, first of all it provides very clean and tidy room, the double bed is absolutely comfortable, shower room was clean with proper hot shower, it provides a safe too! Customer service were friendly and efficient, no waiting time on registration. Once, I mistook that the sink stopper was spoiled and ask for help, the desk person and a security guard came to my room to provide help within 10 minutes. Best of all, many famous Penang food are really close to the hotel, some are within walking distance. The only downside is the extra charge for air-cond, which is not expensive, not sure about the parking fee because I got free parking at the hotel parking lot for the whole trip, which is awesome

Room Tip: save some money by bringing your own towel and toiletries, buy only the air cond time instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I had travel to this hotel on December 2011 and this Is the most terrible hotel that I had ever meet in Penang !!! I am traveled with my car from Kuala Lumpur to Penang and before this my perception toward this hotel is good and valuable. However, its NOT !!!
First, the hotel impose car parking fares (RM5 per entry) to its own customers even though I already booked with the hotel before I travel to Penang. I am quite dissatisfied with them cause I have to pay RM10 if I am in and out the hotel 2 times in a day.

When I checked in the hotel, the staffs asked whether I need air-conditioner services as there is another RM12.++ charges for 12 hours Air-Con services. This is the first time I have to pay money for air-conditioner for a 4 stars hotel !!!

Beside this, Towel is not included however you have to pay RM9 for the towel rental per day if you need towel. Internet Wifi Services is not free and you have to pay for it also. There's more items for charges which I am tired to list all of its here.

My online booking budget for Tune hotel stay is RM105 a night however Tune Hotel had totally cost me RM160 a night without breakfast. (After added all the items)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Hi David Y,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor

Unlike regular hotels, Tune Hotel operates on a limited service concept, where some of the facilities found at regular hotels; are sold as optional add -ons.

This concept is adopted primarily to support “Less Waste, More Earth”, which typically encompasses energy –consuming facilities such as air-conditioning, TV entertainment packages, laundered towels and other amenities. The perks extend itself through savings in a form of cheaper room rates, allowing customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Where pricing is linked to demand, by booking early you may secure rates cheaper that regular hotels. And very often, we cook up great promotions in efforts of rewarding guests with excellent value for money. Log onto our website frequently, and subscribe online for our e-newsletter 'Check Out When To Tune In' for our latest promos & news.

I hope these are informative in planning your future stays.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel Downtown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Downtown Penang

Address: 100, Jalan Burmah | Section 15, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in George Town
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Downtown Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Stay within walking distance to the famous dining places of George Town like the famous Lorong Selamat Char Koay Teow. Penang's most famous beach, Batu Ferringhi, is half an hour's drive away from our hotel. The famous hawker centre along Gurney Drive is a must try, and so is the New World Park located right next door to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tune Hotel Downtown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels. Com Downtown Penang Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Georgetown
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Downtown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.