We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fascinating place of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Protestant Cemetery

Old Protestant Cemetery
Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shan, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 77 things to do in George Town
Attraction details
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fascinating place of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We found the cemetery behind a high wall next to a main road. As we are from Adelaide, which was planned by William Light, we were particularly interested in finding it. We were fascinated by the place and could have wandered around all day. There are a number of very impressive headstones
and memorials.The cemetery is very rundown and needs a lot of attention.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    78
    30
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting but poorly maintained!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Such a shame that this cemetery of the mainly British pioneers of Penang is in such a overgrown state. Weeds/trees growing out of the headstones etc. Poorly marked. Paths overgrown. In need of maintenance if it is to last another 100 years! Part of Penang's history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sad history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

So many young people buried here, wives, children, young men. Also Sir Francis Light, Penang's first governor. A lot of the graves have been cleaned, but there are still a lot of older ones who are now unknown due to general decay. Interesting to walk around and try and imagine what it would have been like in the early days.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Sad its been left to the elements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I felt sad when I visited this cemetery it's totally been left to the elements and sad to think that no one cares for this little piece of England in a country so far away, it was interesting and very historical people died so young. The trees made it a shady although not cool place to visit in the high temperatures We visited in march 2012

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Haunting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Easy think to do, take insect repellant if your susceptible but worth hunting out Sir Francis Light's grave

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Protestant Cemetery also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Old Protestant Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Protestant Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.