We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Merchant Hotel to your Saves list
Merchant Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Noisy Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stay here for 2 night...but i can said i would never stay at this hotel again....i cant sleep for whole night because of the noisy sound from Pub, Disco come from the ground floor...so the person who cant sleep in a noisy condition better dun choose this hotel....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
464 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We've stayed at the Merchant a couple of times and thought it was pretty good value. But on our last visit, in 2007, $300 was stolen from our room. It was perfectly obvious that hotel staff did it. Several young men from the staff hang out by the elevator on the 3rd floor. Every time you take the elevator down, it stops at the third floor, even if no one is getting on or off. It's clear to me that these staffers are watching to see who leaves the hotel, so they can then rush to their room and pilfer their stuff.

The rceptionist was apologetic. She searched the locker of the woman who cleaned our room, but I'd never thought she was the guilty party in the first place.

If you do go to the Merchant, absolutely, positively leave all valuables in the safe. For my part, it's permanently crossed off my list.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Merchant Hotel in Penang Road, Georgetown, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia gave us a very bad reception services. At first, we see the room no. 603 insisted by a female indian receptionist, the room is nice then suddenly a room servicer came and recommended us even more nicer room no. 605 and we like it. So we speak to a female indian receptionist that we want the room no. 605 but she is NOT HAPPY, she insisted us stay in room no. 603. We booked a room immediately, the next day we came check-in with all our luggages, the female 2 indian receptionist told us the room is unavailable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

It is an old hotel, but do not be deterred by the old facade and out of date carpets. Its location is excellent ( just beside the free hop on-hop off bus service stop) and the service is great. It is old but the people there still take pride in their profession and respect their guests. I booked a room which had a double bed and a single bed during the peak period and was charged RM 121 nett including breakfast. Initially I had my apprehensions as the hotel was really old and really resembled a spooky movie set. But the beds were comfy, rooms and toilets were hygienic,and the room was spacious. Breakfast consisted of noodles, toast, coffee and tea, bananas and cakes. For a basic, value for money stay, this hotel is it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I went to Penang last week and stayed for 7 nights there at various hotels to try out the service and take advantage of special cheap room rates. From Tanjung Bungah Copthorne Orchid to Paradise Hotel to Georgetown Traders Hotel to Cititel to Merchant, a grand tour of Penang!

Stayed for a night here before checking out and went to opposite Cititel. Room rates was value for money at RM98 compared to Cititel RM178 which was more expensive yet the room is smaller which is an outrage. Usually when you pay more, it means it is better and everything should also be much luxurious.

The television was small CRT but since its a budget hotel its fine for me. No cable television, only local channel and some channel like NTV7 reception is not clear. After all, I only paid RM98 for it and wasn't expecting much. The decor is like 1970s with a working jukebox! At night you can hear traffice noise but wasnt much of an issue for me.

There is a simple breakfast of coffee/tea, fried noodles and toast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#43 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malaysia
Hotel Malaysia
#38 of 71 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#48 of 71 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Penang
Hotel Royal Penang
#49 of 71 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#24 of 71 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#25 of 71 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Address: 55 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merchant Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the new Merchant Hotel, by taking over the old Merchant Hotel Management, we have fully optimized every nook and cranny to transform the extremely vintage hotel to what you see in the picture we provide. Though were not open yet, and we have no proof on our service being way better than the old Merchant, we urge you to give us a chance to prove to you. Our tagline is " Come as a guest, Leave as a friend". Come be our friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.