We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy restaurant, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thirty Two at the Mansion

Thirty Two at the Mansion
32 Sultan Ahmad Shah | The Mansion, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
04262 2232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 413 restaurants in Georgetown
Price range: $0 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“classy restaurant, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

the portions are not huge but the food is wonderful. There is a nice outdoor setting for drinks and areas for private parties.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    34
    42
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
penang
1 review
“Great Place to entertain in the heart of Georgetown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently attended a wedding held in ThirtyTwo. Apparently it's a very popular venue for weddings. As I was very impressed with the food and service provided I decided to entertain some visitors there. I found the atmosphere really nice. The annex bar bar by the beach side of this unique location was perfect for a pre dinner drink and catching up with my long-time-no-see friends. Dinner inside the air conditioned area was another pleasant experience. The tray of assorted breads was lovely, warm and crusty. The piquant salad with spicy lemongrass dressing was a pleasure to the taste buds. My guests enjoyed it so much that they bought a couple of bottles of the dressing to take home to England. The variety of main course that we all had were very nice. Good portion size and nicely presented without trying too hard. Most importantly the food was served hot. From talking to the restaurant manager I found out that this place has been in existence for 12 years now. Quite a feat in a place where mortality rate of f n b places are high with so many outlets coming and going. I recommend this restaurant to those who are looking for a pleasant night out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Service, portions and furnishings need to be improved & upgraded.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's been sometime now that we visited the Restaurant especially for lunch. Very quiet saved for 2 other tables where the customers were just having cold drinks.
We ordered the set lunch...a salmon and a cod dish. The starter is either a soup or a salad. We chose the carrot soup which was just ok. The salmon dish looked different from what we saw in the photos. The taste was also just average.Dessert was a tiny piece of cake with ice cream followed by coffee. In the past, the portion was slightly more.
There were many waiters hanging around and texting away on their h/p and talking among themselves. They were not very friendly and did not even acknowledge when we were leaving. The decoration and floor tiles were old and worn out and the furnishings could do with some upgrade whilst preserving the heritage of the restaurant building. Perhaps the dinner portions are better and I guess there are more diners at night.I would definitely think twice before going back to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“No big deal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice ambience next to the beach but local / western food was so-so. Better off at food stalls. Desserts were good - they had a good palm sugar ice cream.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another nice place for Special Occasions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Visited two years ago for an Anniversary with GF at this place. The setting is very romantic with scenic landscape gardens outside. Food was great especially the lamb shanks. Dessert was superb, if not mistaken they provided two choices of cake. A bit pricey but its okay to splurge once in a while for special occasions with a special person at this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirty Two at the Mansion also viewed

 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang

Been to Thirty Two at the Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirty Two at the Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.