We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent + Cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restoran Kapitan

Restoran Kapitan
93 Lebuh Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
(04) 264 1191
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 460 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent + Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a few dishes (tandoori chicken, chicken masala) and it was all very good. Food is cheap and delicious and was 5 mins from my hostel. What can I say? This would be a regular for me if I lived in Penang! It's also 24 hours apparently. Crazy!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    164
    56
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and yummie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great indian food. We were only 2 days in Georgetown but ate here twice.
We loved the chicken tandoori with (cheese) naan!
And it's very cheap... You should really go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Tandoori Platter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Excellent Tandoori & Naan at a bargin price of less than RM 10! It is a little dirty and looks very average, but food is second to none so came back every day we were in George Town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We ate here twice on our trip to Georgetown. The food is excellent and the prices are good. It's right downtown near Little India.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Service is better but still room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I got the name of the dish wrong last time, it should be 'Milani' chicken (not 'malibu'). It can be ordered with rice or bread (naan). While the rice dish is more appealing in looks, the one with bread is the tastier. The reason is probably due to the fact that the chicken is served 'sizzling' with the bread.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restoran Kapitan also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Restoran Kapitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restoran Kapitan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.