We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Famous place gone downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restoran Kapitan

Restoran Kapitan
93 Lebuh Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
(04) 264 1191
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 460 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Munich
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Famous place gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Avoid this place if you know what good Indian food should look like. I love Tandoori and I love Naan but the ones here are the worst I ever had. No way they can bake enough Naan in time for so many people so it gets mass-produced in advance. When I complained that mine was cold and damp they reheated it for a few seconds and returned the same old thing lukewarm. Only after complaining again I finally got a good fresh one.
The tandoori chicken is burnt black about a third of the surface, again mass production, with high temperatures the meat cooks faster and they can produce more but black and unhealthy, who cares, certainly no one here. And what a joke, claypot dishes not cooked in claypot but only served in one, so only for show, not for taste, and the meat comes burnt black as well.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    164
    57
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
“yummyyyyyyy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

the best lamb briyani i had in my life..mouth watering garlic cheese naan with tandoori chicken..
most of all..fell in love with the hot almond milk..its mind blowing!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food, 'meh' service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The tandoori chicken garlic cheese naan set is recommended, in fact, it was the first thing a local Penangite ordered for us during our supper. This was then washed down with the (also recommended) claypot briyani rice, although the term 'claypot' refers to the rice being served in a claypot, not cooked in one; delicious nonetheless.

Located on Chulia Street, it is in the old Georgetown area. Parking is easier by night as the surrounding businesses are closed.

The restaurant has branches in Gurney and Queensbay, but we feel the Chulia Street one is tastier.

Our biggest let-down was the quality of the service here. Unless you look specifically foreign, namely Caucasian, do not expect the server to come at your first call. Or your second call. Or maybe your third call. Better luck on your fourth call, maybe. The servers have also perfected the art of looking straight at you while you call, and then indifferently look away. It is not an isolated case, as this trend is rampant among all the servers. This occured when the place is not packed. Good luck trying to get their attention when there are many more customers.

The service is definitely better at the Gurney and the Queensbay branches.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“curry tandoori ~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

love their bryani lamb. it's cheap, and very filling with aromatic curry and a well cooked lamb. nasi kandar is nice as expected. reasonably priced. naans are great with their fragrant tandoori chicken.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food & good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Try their butter chicken & Naans & tandoori chicken. We really enjoyed their food the 1st time we visited Penang & this time was no exception.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restoran Kapitan also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Restoran Kapitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restoran Kapitan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.