We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laksa and Durian Ice Cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kek Seng Cafe

Kek Seng Cafe
383 Jalan Penang | Chinatown, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 460 Restaurants in George Town
Restaurant details
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Laksa and Durian Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place claims to have one of the best Assam Laksa in town, and certainly did not disappoint. It is one of the few places in the city centre that uses fresh ingredients. My favourite was still in Balik Pulau, but this place was almost as good.

Try the Durian Ice Cream also!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Amazing Lor Bak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Food available:-
1) Lor Bak - this is a must-try. We had 3 rounds when we were there. I couldn't stop.
2) Laksa - very good.
3) Prawn noodles - very good
4) Chicken rice - forgettable. don't waste your stomach space on this. those we get in Singapore is nicer.
5) Ice kacang - excellent way to end the meal especially on a hot day! the durian ice cream is too sweet to eat on it's own, but tastes much better when eaten with the ice kacang.
6) Kueh pie tee - average, eat only if you've got spare stomach space.

The char kwey teow was closed when we were there much to our disappointment. The food here was worth the walk/hunt in the hot sun. Will be back the next time I'm in Penang.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The home-made ice cream is a must to try! The local food of Penang is simply amazing and made your trip an unforgettable memory.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Decades old coffee shop with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

One of the most popular coffee shops in Georgetown since decades ago.
Local Penang street food sold here still tasted good especially the one of its kind Penang Lo Bak and Ice Kacang topped with home made durian ice cream! Other equally popular stalls are Char Koay Teow and Assam Laksa.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wide variety of food choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

to those who wants to try out different local dishes in Penang, this would be a good choice. Good price, different kinds of food including char koay teow, lok lok, o jian and mucj more :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kek Seng Cafe also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Kek Seng Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kek Seng Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.