We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service first class but food was very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1885

1885
10 Lebuh Farquahar, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 4-222 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 459 Restaurants in George Town
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“service first class but food was very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

went for dinner and we had the place to ourselves. service was fantastic, staff were attentive to details. however, food fell way below expectations. for a well established dining venue, they really need to improve on the goods they serve.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unfortunately a very average experience at 1885”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was about 4 pm by the time we arrived at 1885, E&O Hotel for the traditional afternoon tea.

First impressions: Coming through the hotel to the restaurant, we felt that the entrance to the restaurant was not immediately apparent. It was too easy for guests to have walked past without knowing this was the 1885. Was this to do with the way the restaurant was designed into the E&O Hotel?

The architecture and ambience, however, was unique and did well in bringing about a sense of calm to the patrons visiting the restaurant. With that, naturally came the excitement and expectation of excellent food to accompany such an interesting location.

Alas, expectations were left unfulfilled as we were treated to a very average afternoon tea experience. The afternoon tea consisted of a selection of pastries. sandwiches and scones. Quality of the food was mediocre - macaroons were too hard and sandwiches unexciting. Possibly one of the items that fell well below expectation was the quality of the tea served. Being rather particular about the tea I drink, first sip had already left me questioning the brew of the tea being served that afternoon.

Nothing extraordinary could be said about the service. Staff seemed to be preoccupied in their own affairs rather than in their patrons. As mentioned before, one of the reasons we felt we could have easily missed the restaurant was a lack of staff being present to welcome or at least acknowledge the presence of guests entering the restaurant.

We paid MYR56++ each for the afternoon tea and considering the value would probably not recommend for future visits. Sad to say that despite being in the E&O hotel, 1885 loses out to some of the tea boutiques in KL and SG in serving up an enjoyable afternoon tea experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dining At Its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I cannot rave enough about this place.
From the moment we stepped into 1885 we were not disappointed.
The service was second to none and the food was amazing.
I had read the reviews on here and staying at the hotel made it an easy decision to book a table for my birthday.
The staff had decorated our table tastefully and were falling over themselves to make sure we had the best service.
The food was presented really well and flavored were amazing.
My partner and I opted for the Chateaubriand and it was cooked to perfection.
I didn't have room for dessert but the staff had organized a birthday cheesecake for me, candles as well!!! All I can say is if you appreciate good food then you will not be disappointed.
Well worth a visit and we will definitely be back on our next visit to Penang.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice environment but service need improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went there for afternoon tea with my wife without booking, was asked by a staff in white uniform to wait outside. After 10+ minutes of waiting, a couple came in, also without booking but was escorted in by their staff. We asked the staff why we were treated diffirently, luckily the higher ranking staff in black uniform immediately escort us in. We didn't get an answer nor any sort of apology for being asked to wait outside without reason. Luckily the environment was very quite and nice, our mood get settled down after some hot tea and the sandwiches. The food was nice but very little and consider pricey, RM56++ for one set. Before we left, we saw a guest from outside (smoking zone) came in with cigarett, the room was filled with smoke smell instantly. We was upset why the staff didn;t stop the smoker guest from entering the aircon restaurant. Overall, like the environment, but not the customer service, we expect more for the high price paid.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Five of us experienced 1885's High tea. Second visit in 4 years, worth the trip. Took visitors from Canada. Restaurant ambience is what is expected for a High Tea venue. Quiet, Subdued ambience. Staff helpful but stayed in background so we could talk. Appreciated the kitchen to make up a gluten-free sandwiches and cake menu for my niece. Will definitely recommend 1885 for special outings and another return visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1885 also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to 1885? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1885, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.