We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1885

1885
10 Lebuh Farquahar, Georgetown, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 4-222 2000
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #48 of 391 restaurants in Georgetown
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Special Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Myself, wife and 2 teenage daughters had dinner at the restaurant on Christmas day 2012.
We arrived early at the E&O hotel and when we enquired as to the location of the 1885 restaurant were escorted there by one of the Reception staff. The restaurant wasn't ready for us so he took us on a guided tour of this historic hotel. Now thats service!
The Dinner was as you would expect from a high end restaurant and was excellent but not exceptional. Staff were attentive without being intrusive and the Christmas Carrols sung by the children was delightfull and put a smile on every face. The asian Father Christmas in full kit was an interesting asside. The bill was expensive by Malay standards but about half what you would pay in Australia. All in all a pleasant nigh was had by all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    22
    13
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worst afternoon tea ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went with great anticipation of an afternoon tea in a 6-star hotel. The whole experience was such a let down with its far than decent sandwiches, pastries and cakes. To begin with, the bread for the sandwiches was stale, we spotted 2 tiny flies flying around the sandwiches, the presentation was slipshod, the cheese filling was mere sliced processed cheese from supermarket. The macaron was disgusting, it was rock hard that was more like a hard candy disguised as macaron. The cake was dry and the chocolate ganache was sugary with no hint of cacao. This applied to all the chocolates. The scone was passable, nothing fantastic. We alerted the waitress of the fly on the sandwich and she took it away without addressing our concern nor apologized. Sighting the flies was an ultimatum and especially not getting a response from the wait staff, we spoke to the manager. The lady from next table also echoed her displeasure over the food. The redeeming grace for this was the Manager who took to our grouses seriously, apologised profusely, and waived part of the charges; and we paid only for the pots of tea. Honestly the standard of the food served was abysmally bad, and not mentioning the steep price for an afternoon tea. As my companion put it, the pâtisserie who baked or prepared the food obviously took no pride for his profession.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Best Evening Buffet I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This culinary experience was sublime. It was an extensive array of everything imaginable. Seafood included lobster, crab, oysters, king prawn, massive Salmon cooked in numerous ways. Peking Duck, Roast Duck, Etc Etc Etc.

We frequented on a Friday Night and although expensive for the Malay standards was very reasonable for ours and worth every cent. I cant wait to go back to Penang and try it again.

This is a must try restaurant and Sarkies is wonderful as well in the same hotel.

Take a walk through the hotel grounds of this beautiful colonial Hotet, restored to its old Granduer.!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“English afternoon tea a highlight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The English afternoon tea (high tea) at 1885 is superb. The food and the tea were fantastic and even better, and cheaper than the High tea we had at Raffles Singapore a few years ago. Dinner was also delicious and well priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable high tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family and friend enjoyed a high tea in the 1885 restaurant of the E&O hotel in Penang. This is a classic colonial hotel with very British style. I enjoyed the environment and the atmosphere of the restaurant as well as the good service provided. The foods and tea are generally of good quality (but not excellent for all items). The view outside is also very nice and you may consider sitting outdoor if weather permitting. The only issue is that it is rather pricey in terms of Penang standard. However, it is expected to be like that for dining in an elegant place like this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1885 also viewed

Georgetown, Penang Island
 
Georgetown, Penang Island
Georgetown, Penang Island
 

Been to 1885? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1885, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.