We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant at a great price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kashmir Restaurant

Kashmir Restaurant
105 Penang Road, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
42637411
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 465 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant at a great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We visited Kashmir for an evening meal as it was well recommended on trip advisor and by our hotel (eastern & oriental). We had chicken tikka and a sizzling prawn dish. The tikka was so good we ordered more. Just to add some clarity and context to a lot of the reviews for this restaurant, the main dishes were at most £5. Hence if you are travelling on a budget then clearly it's much more than a hawker centre where a whole meal is £3. If you are travelling and staying in a 3/4/5 star hotel then you will find this restaurant much much cheaper than the price of food in the hotel, but it is excellent quality and much cheaper vs what we would pay in London for the same quality food.
Beer is reasonable as well. Worth visiting for sure unless you are looking for really cheap hawker food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    49
    16
    12
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Bit pricier but great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Loved the food at this place. It's a bit more upmarket than the other Indian restaurants in town, but the food is of a high standard and very tasty. The service is nice too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Incredible Indian food, great location, perfect patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I came here twice during my stay in Penang and I can honestly say Kashmir dishes up some of the best Indian food I've ever had. Everything was fantastic, but I'll give a special mention to the stuffed naan and the chana masala, which was incredibly tasty and also nose-clearingly spicy. I had to make an unexpected lassi order to cool my mouth down. You've been warned!

The owner (Mohan) is super friendly and often hangs out on the front patio; he's probably the only one wearing sunglasses. Speaking of the patio, it's a perfect spot for enjoying your meal, as you can watch all the people and cars go by in the busy intersection. Somehow there's always a pleasant breeze on the patio too, which can be a rarity in the middle of a city.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful and cheap food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

An absolute fantastic meal. The manager helped us immensely by choosing what he thought we may like (even though we are devout Indian food eaters!!) - this was a fantastic opportunity so we took it. We have never had the same tender tandoori chicken anywhere in the world - even said our 12 year old. Lovely small restaurant in Georgetown that will leave you felling nicely full with equally the coldest beer served in penang which on a really hot day was very welcomed. Friendly and welcoming staff. We spent on a 3 course meal with 3 beers and 4 waters approx $aud60. We could not eat at these prices this standard of Indian meal anywhere in Australia. We will def be back Kashmir when back in penang - we hope in 2014! This restaurant is attached to the oriental hotel and just down the road from the blue mansion (another of georgetowns amazing attractions).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing, not the cheapest but you get what you pay for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After leaving India i'd been searching for good indian food and little India left me dissapointed. Paid 20 ringgit for an absolutely awesome meal, so much taste, and it seems to generally be happy hour when you can get two pints of Carlsberg for 29 ringgitt (which isnt the cheapest but a real pint was appreciated)

Lovely friendly staff, and as we were in a big group they gave us a free chicken dish to start when we were unsure of what to chose and free ice cream for all afterwards as we'd spent so much. Only problem was we were all so satisfied and full it was difficult to leave the restaurant!

Want a decent indian meal in Penang this is THE place to go

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kashmir Restaurant also viewed

 
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Kashmir Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kashmir Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.