We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Chinese food ever....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Seafood Gurney

Oriental Seafood Gurney
42 Gurney Drive, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
+60 (4) 8904500
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 465 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The worst Chinese food ever....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The place looked nice.. that was wat attracted us in the first place but we didn't realise we werr getting into a trap.. If only we checked the trip advisor.. learnt my lesson.. the food was below average.. the fish was stale and rubbery.. we knew it was not fresh... but the chinese old arrogant lady refuse to try or even apologies for it.. we had a small plates of prawns, chicken, soft shell crab, vege-kailan (which was only stems), bean curd and that horrible fish. It all cost MYR299. For 7 of us???? We could have had amazing food with good service back at Port Klang. We refuse to pay for the fish which cost MYR99, we paid for the remaining and walked off..never to go back to this restaurant. Wish it would be shut down d next time I come back to Penang.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    6
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Friend visited this joint in a touristy area of Penang(Island), fish was stale and they refused to exchange it. What a joke of a restaurant,the chef should be embarassed to cook for them!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worse than worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Overprice food in Penang. We ordered 3 dishes and a vegetables, the food is below average, the the price is freaking expensive. There's one old lady who helped us to make the order, is EXTRAORDINATY RUDE. I won't even want to step into this restaurant anymore.

Not even once.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“110% Tourist Area & 200% Tourist Price & 50% Quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

A sure tourist place ... and cut throat. Locals will swear never to patronise... exhobitant prices for lousy n low taste n choices. Never a local will go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Please Dont Try”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Super bad service, the waitress are like deaf, wont serve u... they will occasionally stop by and listen to u, but do ntg after that... food is bad... four dishes - vege, chicken, toufu, clam...total cost RM250... wanna try? Dun ever try

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Seafood Gurney also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Oriental Seafood Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Seafood Gurney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.